PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I am connected but it seams http doesn't work



alisdair
November 14th, 2009, 08:12 PM
Hi i've just upgraded to Karmic but the internet doesn't work. I am connected, i can ping servers and even my skype works as well but i cannot connect to any page. Please do you have some ideas? Which lists should i post to help you help me? Sry for eng but i hurried :) Thanks for ideas

driftertx
November 14th, 2009, 08:26 PM
do the following from a command line:

mike@hellfire:~/.ssh$ wget www.yahoo.com
--2009-11-14 13:24:04-- http://www.yahoo.com/
Resolving www.yahoo.com... 69.147.76.15
Connecting to www.yahoo.com|69.147.76.15|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: http://m.www.yahoo.com/ [following]
--2009-11-14 13:24:05-- http://m.www.yahoo.com/
Resolving m.www.yahoo.com... 67.195.160.76, 69.147.125.65
Connecting to m.www.yahoo.com|67.195.160.76|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `index.html'

[ <=> ] 119,311 324K/s in 0.4s

2009-11-14 13:24:05 (324 KB/s) - `index.html' saved [119311]


this is what you should see if it's working okay, if it works then it means something is misconfigured with your proxy settings within firefox (making the assumption by 'sites don't work' you mean web browsing). Remove any proxy settings from Edit/Preferences/Network Button/Settings

alisdair
November 14th, 2009, 08:28 PM
I should add this problem have all connection (ethernet, usb, wifi) in common. There is no problem in proxy, i tried to use opera too. :) I try to do driftertx (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=485484) wrote :)

alisdair
November 14th, 2009, 08:32 PM
do the following from a command line:

mike@hellfire:~/.ssh (mike@hellfire:%7E/.ssh)$ wget www.yahoo.com (http://www.yahoo.com)
--2009-11-14 13:24:04-- http://www.yahoo.com/
Resolving www.yahoo.com (http://www.yahoo.com)... 69.147.76.15
Connecting to www.yahoo.com|69.147.76.15|:80 (http://www.yahoo.com%7C69.147.76.15%7C:80)... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: http://m.www.yahoo.com/ [following]
--2009-11-14 13:24:05-- http://m.www.yahoo.com/
Resolving m.www.yahoo.com (http://www.yahoo.com)... 67.195.160.76, 69.147.125.65
Connecting to m.www.yahoo.com|67.195.160.76|:80 (http://www.yahoo.com%7C67.195.160.76%7C:80)... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: unspecified [text/html]
Saving to: `index.html'

[ <=> ] 119,311 324K/s in 0.4s

2009-11-14 13:24:05 (324 KB/s) - `index.html' saved [119311]


this is what you should see if it's working okay, if it works then it means something is misconfigured with your proxy settings within firefox (making the assumption by 'sites don't work' you mean web browsing). Remove any proxy settings from Edit/Preferences/Network Button/Settings

It worked. It was connected in the same way, only some other ip.

driftertx
November 14th, 2009, 08:37 PM
Copy and paste what response you get from wget and paste it here, also run install and run this:

also do from terminal: 'sudo apt-get install traceroute'

then do you: 'traceroute www.yahoo.com'


From the looks of it, if DNS works and traceroute works you either have something intercepting your port 80/HTTP traffic upstream or firewall issue.

alisdair
November 14th, 2009, 08:55 PM
So i tried to install traceroute, but it couldn't connect to the server (i tried more servers) so i download it at sisters computer, installed and here is the list. In addition i found out that www.ubuntu.com and subpages works for me, but for one while it didn't and worked only ubuntu.cz So i am bit confused. :(


traceroute to www.yahoo.com (1.0.0.0), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 * * *
2 lo0-bras1-ost1-plus.ctc.prg.vol.cz (88.146.111.22) 17.162 ms 21.814 ms 26.866 ms
3 pe1-ost1-plus.ctc.prg.vol.cz (88.146.109.97) 32.444 ms 36.830 ms 41.866 ms
4 ge1-2.bb1.prg.vol.cz (195.122.209.37) 52.914 ms 57.693 ms 62.995 ms
5 ge1 (195.122.209.37) 67.559 ms 72.867 ms 77.386 ms
6 * ge4-2.tr3.prg.vol.cz (212.20.123.36) 70.762 ms *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 * * *
23 * * *
24 * * *
25 * * *
26 * * *
27 * * *
28 * * *
29 * * *
30 * * *

driftertx
November 14th, 2009, 09:14 PM
sounds like your provider is having problems with DNS. I can tell you that 1.0.0.0 is not the IP address for Yahoo.com! Try using opendns servers, 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

alisdair
November 14th, 2009, 09:18 PM
sounds like your provider is having problems with DNS. I can tell you that 1.0.0.0 is not the IP address for Yahoo.com! Try using opendns servers, 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

sorry i dont understand, what are these servers for?

ED: or how should i use it?

alisdair
November 14th, 2009, 09:32 PM
I tried more servers, but i found only one which shows real ip.


traceroute to www.seznam.cz (77.75.72.3), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 * * *
2 lo0 (88.146.111.22) 14.059 ms 18.800 ms 23.861 ms
3 pe1 (88.146.109.97) 28.756 ms 33.735 ms 38.994 ms
4 ge1 (195.122.209.37) 49.645 ms 54.818 ms 59.597 ms
5 ge1 (195.122.209.37) 64.583 ms 69.584 ms 74.671 ms
6 te2-1.tr1.prg2.vol.cz (212.20.124.60) 79.810 ms 70.814 ms 67.564 ms
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *
19 * * *
20 * * *
21 * * *
22 nix.seznam.cz (194.50.100.195) 65.027 ms !X * *
ondra@laptop-1:~$ traceroute www.fnx.cz (http://www.fnx.cz/)

alisdair
November 14th, 2009, 10:30 PM
I changed DNS servers and it works.