PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install edimax EW-7318USg newb

DSheth
November 14th, 2009, 11:52 AM
Hello:KS

A few days ago i managed to dual-boot Windows XP and ubuntu on my PC, but now i have the problem of installing the EDIMAX EW-7318USg wireless adaptor on the ubuntu boot so i can access internet on it too, i tried using the instalation disk that came with it but it doesnt seem to work, please bear in mind that i am currently new to this OS and i dont know what to do ive seen its supported on the compatibility page. any help would be appreciated.:p

chili555
November 14th, 2009, 02:04 PM
According to the compatability page, all you need to do is insert the device and open a terminal and do:
sudo modprobe rt73usb
iwconfigDo you see a wireless interface now? Can you click the Network Manager icon and connect (he asks, optimistically)?

DSheth
November 14th, 2009, 07:30 PM
well heres what happened and it didnt really work:

dipesh@dipesh-desktop:~$ sudo modprobe rt73usb
[sudo] password for dipesh:
dipesh@dipesh-desktop:~$ sudo modprobe rt73usb
dipesh@dipesh-desktop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=13 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:on
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

DSheth
November 14th, 2009, 07:32 PM
please help :p

DSheth
November 14th, 2009, 09:09 PM
ok ive nearly got it i think just small help please :KS
under network tools ive found my wireless edimax listed as wlan0, i tried these commands obviously i entered my own wep key n essid:

sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid YOUR_NETWORK_NAME_HERE
sudo iwconfig wlan0 key YOUR_WEP_KEY_HERE_OR_"off"_FOR_NO_KEY
sudo dhclient wlan0