PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Rollback and antivirus - urgent

ntrapped
November 11th, 2009, 01:56 PM
Hi,

I had been using Ubuntu 9 for a few months now.

1. I want to know is there a way to rollback to an earlier point in Ubuntu, with the files etc.

I corrupted my system and all the files due to some files that I executed. I unfortunately executed it under my username. I assumed that it would ask for su rights before modifying any important file. But it didnt.

2. Also, is there any anti-virus or sort which I could use on the system - as A last hope ...

Thanks

Pls help ...

howefield
November 11th, 2009, 02:02 PM
1. I want to know is there a way to rollback to an earlier point in Ubuntu, with the files etc.

Backintime sounds like the program you need. I don't use it so can't give a recommendation, but it seems fairly popular. I just take an image of the disk with clonezilla, and all important stuff backed up in multiple places.

Also, is there any anti-virus or sort which I could use on the system - as A last hope ...

You do know that anti virus isn't required ? If you want it however, (and there are reasons why you might) read this.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Antivirus

dvlchd3
November 11th, 2009, 02:03 PM
2. Also, is there any anti-virus or sort which I could use on the system - as A last hope ...

Antivirus in linux is rather pointless. Most AV's check for Windows viruses. Since there are really only a handful of Linux viruses, it is rather pointless to develop a AV suite like Windows users need.

Viable alternative: chkrootkit

This checks for several things within your system, i.e. viruses, files that shouldn't be there, files that were modified oddly, shell bindings (in case you have been hacked), etc.

That package is a command-line utility. No GUI..sry.

ntrapped
November 11th, 2009, 02:17 PM
Thanks for the replies.
Yes, I know anti-virus is pretty pointless in Ubuntu.