PDA

View Full Version : Function Returning Pointer Adress

cmwarre
November 10th, 2009, 02:49 AM
Hey guys I'm trying to make a function that returns a pointer address. Do you mind sharing how I would declare the prototype and how I would assign the pointer when I call it? Thank you

efexD
November 10th, 2009, 03:43 AM
Assuming you are asking about C++, it's simple.

int& getIntPtrAddress()
{
int someNumber = 10;
int& address = someNumber;

return address;
}

jimi_hendrix
November 10th, 2009, 03:44 AM
Prototype:

//example 1. This returns the actual address
int *someFunctionA(int arg);

//example 2. This takes a pointer as well as an arg and stores the data in the pointer's location
void someFunctionB(int arg, int *dest);
Calling the function:

int *foo;
foo = someFunctionA(5); //Example 1
someFunctionB(5, foo); //Example 2

cmwarre
November 10th, 2009, 03:57 AM
Oh sorry I was just talking about C. So here is my program attached. It's not all done yet
and I'm still learning so be prepared to find a lot of bugs haha
Basicly I'm trying to write a function for a vending machine simulation program for my class
and this function is how the user chooses the snack that they want. I just want it to return
the address of the matricie(however you spell that) element chosen.

dwhitney67
November 10th, 2009, 12:51 PM

int& getIntPtrAddress()
{
int someNumber = 10;

return address;
}

wtf?

You are returning a reference to a variable that will 'die' as soon as the function returns. Where the heck did you learn to write code?

dwhitney67
November 10th, 2009, 01:02 PM
Oh sorry I was just talking about C. So here is my program attached. It's not all done yet
and I'm still learning so be prepared to find a lot of bugs haha
Basicly I'm trying to write a function for a vending machine simulation program for my class
and this function is how the user chooses the snack that they want. I just want it to return
the address of the matricie(however you spell that) element chosen.