PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu One in 9.10



RealG187
November 6th, 2009, 02:43 AM
Does 9.10 come with Ubuntu one? I see on the features page that Ubuntu One is listed as a feature, does this mean it's built in or do you still have to install it?

poebae
November 6th, 2009, 03:40 AM
It's a built-in feature, accessible (IIRC) from the "Internet" group in the main menu.

RealG187
November 6th, 2009, 03:46 AM
What did you put "(IIRC)" in your post?

poebae
November 6th, 2009, 04:54 AM
Hmmm now that you mention it, it was probably not very well placed. What I meant is that I don't currently have access to an Ubuntu system, but If I Remember Correctly it's in the "Internet" menu.

andrea000
November 6th, 2009, 05:48 AM
ubuntu one is pre installed and it is in the Internet menu.
Working great on my 9.10 computer

RealG187
November 6th, 2009, 09:16 PM
I am at school now and checked my 9.10 VM, it's there. I have U1 at home, but I had to install it as I am still using 9.04.

With my past experiences with upgrading, I am only gonna upgrade if I need to. In the past when I upgraded things didn't work as expected and I had to spend extra time getting things working.

andrea000
November 13th, 2009, 03:57 AM
9.10 is well worth the upgrade but i would do
a clean install as they have a new file system
ext4 and the only way to run it is a clean install
as far as i know.

RealG187
November 13th, 2009, 08:52 PM
Im just keeping my 9.04 install on my Laptop, but I am running 9.10 in VM Ware at school.

Kunkles
November 13th, 2009, 09:35 PM
Im just keeping my 9.04 install on my Laptop, but I am running 9.10 in VM Ware at school.
Give it a month or so and Canonical should have some of the bugs kinked out, K?

RealG187
November 13th, 2009, 10:21 PM
I need to make sure my hardware works and I can install VM Ware. Installing VM Ware has been an issue, sometimes the install not working or in 9.04 it "stole" my modifer keys where I could not use Ctrl, Alt, or Shift in Ubuntu, only in the VMs. That was annoying.