PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Python: Program Works Fine but Generates Errors

Penguin Guy
October 30th, 2009, 07:20 PM
I'm new to python and made a short program that allows you to move around a box, the only thing wrong with it is that it spews out some random errors every time I run it - what do they mean?

[ERRORS]

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./pybox", line 38, in <module>
curses.wrapper( main )
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/curses/wrapper.py", line 44, in wrapper
return func(stdscr, *args, **kwds)
File "./pybox", line 35, in main
screen.addstr( y , x , '#' )
KeyboardInterrupt

Although it looks like there are multiple errors above, there is only one, KeyboardInterrupt, the rest it is just debug information. We can fix this by adding a better way of exiting the program than just pressing Ctrl+C:

if char == 113: # q
exit()

[ERROR: If I go into the bottom right corner]

_curses.error: addstr() returned ERR

The reason I got this error was because after printing a character, it would move the cursor to the right (outside of the window).
Fixes:

Put the addch command in a try ... except statement - this is what I've done in the code below
Don't allow the player to move there
Hack the curses library

[PYTHON]

#!/usr/bin/python

import curses
import curses.wrapper
import random

def main(screen):
( screen_height , screen_width ) = screen.getmaxyx()

x = random.randrange( 0 , screen_width )
y = random.randrange( 0 , screen_height )

try: screen.addstr( y , x , '#' )
except curses.error: pass
screen.move( 0 , 0 ) # Keep the cursor out of the way

while 1:
oldx = x
oldy = y

char = screen.getch()

if char == 113: # q
exit()
if char == curses.KEY_RIGHT:
x = x+1
if char == curses.KEY_LEFT:
x = x-1
if char == curses.KEY_UP:
y = y-1
if char == curses.KEY_DOWN:
y = y+1

( screen_height , screen_width ) = screen.getmaxyx()

# If character is in illegal position, move it:
if x > screen_width-1:
x = screen_width-1
elif x < 0:
x = 0
if y > screen_height-1: