PDA

View Full Version : os.system('ls -a')

jesuisbenjamin
October 28th, 2009, 09:16 PM
Hello there,

i am new to programming and am beginning with Python. Now i am playing around with some scripts to practice and learn along.

I wanted to run a simple command

os.system('ls -a')
The funny thing is that when i run ls -a manually in the shell i get the 'coloured' version where eg. folders are in blue font, whereas when i run the same command from my script there are no colours/legend.

I guess this leads me to ask three questions:

How come it doesn't show colours whilst using the script?
(Assuming it is due to the module: ) Is there an alternative to os.system() to execute shell command-lines?
How can i find out what module i should use when i just have an idea of what i want to do? For example: suppose i want a module to search for files, how can i come to know there is a module for this and what its name would be?

Thanks

Arndt
October 28th, 2009, 09:46 PM
Hello there,

i am new to programming and am beginning with Python. Now i am playing around with some scripts to practice and learn along.

I wanted to run a simple command

os.system('ls -a')
The funny thing is that when i run ls -a manually in the shell i get the 'coloured' version where eg. folders are in blue font, whereas when i run the same command from my script there are no colours/legend.

I guess this leads me to ask three questions:

How come it doesn't show colours whilst using the script?
(Assuming it is due to the module: ) Is there an alternative to os.system() to execute shell command-lines?
How can i find out what module i should use when i just have an idea of what i want to do? For example: suppose i want a module to search for files, how can i come to know there is a module for this and what its name would be?

Thanks

You can force coloring by using "ls --color".