PDA

View Full Version : Asm bootloader loading a kernel

cam888
October 26th, 2009, 09:30 PM
So i have a basic bootloader setup, written in asm, and I have a basic kernel written that just prints things to the screen, but I can't find anything telling me how to load the kernel from the bootloader. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks
Cameron

SunSpyda
October 26th, 2009, 10:56 PM
First you will need to work out if you are gonna stick with 16bit real mode, or shift up to 32/64bit protected mode.

32/64bit protected mode is a pain due to drivers. In 16bit real mode, the BIOS can do a lot for you, but a modern, sophisticated OS should be 32/64bit protected based.

cam888
October 27th, 2009, 12:12 AM
If I were to write the kernel (mostly) in C, will it matter what mode I'm in? Because I would prefer to go into 32 bit mode, but I have also not seen any example code for this.

(I'm new to this, as you may be able to tell, thanks for the help)

SunSpyda
October 27th, 2009, 07:02 PM
I did this a long while back, so I may have forgotten or mistake certain aspects, so sorry in advance for any unbelievable mistakes I may make :p

The BIOS uses finds the bootloader (a flat binary) on the first 540k of the boot disk (not sure if thats a restraint anymore), & executes it. The bootloader can then boot the OS which itself can be 32/64bit protected mode. But as soon as you do that, you will need to write drivers for the H/W, since the BIOS can no longer operate the H/W for you. The BIOS is a simple 16bit thing, so it can't operate your H/W in a 32/64bit environment.

The bootloader is a ASM job, that NASM, FASM, SolASM & a few others can do. So can GNU, but I hear some linker magic is needed. The OS can be mostly written in a higher level language like C/C++. You can't run languages like Python, Java, .NET or whatever else until you get a operating kernel that can execute programs in a multiprogramming system, & you have compiled the runtimes into the necessary executable.