View Full Version : atoi and getchar C programming

mang109
October 24th, 2009, 01:16 PM
I am trying to get input from the user in answer to a question

printf("press 1 for yes and 2 for no/n");
char charr=getchar();
int key=atoi(charr);

if (key= etc etc etc ...

the error tells me im "making a pointer from an int withoput a cast" - This means nothing to me.

I am not allowed to use scanf ( arghhhhhhhh)

I KNOW this code is wrong, I do not know how to fix it - I have never used either of these functions before

I found this question asked here : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=523504

I KNOW I am not giving atoi the right input- but I do not even slightly understand what I am meant to give it . Id really appreciate some help here, ive been trying to fix this for hours and hours

Thanks in advance

MadCow108
October 24th, 2009, 01:28 PM
atoi expects a pointer to a null terminated cstring (aka char *) and not a plain char
http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/clibrary/cstdlib/atoi/

if you only need a single char then you can use the value of the char directly without atoi:

char ch = getchar();
if (ch == '1')
// dostuff

it has to be single quotes, as single quotes means char and double quote char*
or

char ch = getchar()-'0'; // convert ascii code to normal char integer (range -127 to 127)
if (ch == 1) // now we can check against a regular integer
// dostuff

CptPicard
October 24th, 2009, 01:30 PM
I KNOW I am not giving atoi the right input- but I do not even slightly understand what I am meant to give it .

Man page sayeth:

NAME
atoi, atol, atoll, atoq - convert a string to an integer

SYNOPSIS
#include <stdlib.h>

int atoi(const char *nptr);

It wants a C-style string representation of what to convert into an integer. That is, it's a pointer to the first character, and the string should be terminated by a null, '\0'.

Paul Miller
October 26th, 2009, 02:27 PM