PDA

View Full Version : [kde] Wine + Dreamweaver + Independant Display problems

ShapeShiftme
October 23rd, 2009, 04:02 AM
Good day all. Due to the many variables that go into this problem im not sure to which section this should be posted. So i thought here.

The Scenario:
I am a web application developer and programmer that eventually couldn't take vista anymore so decided to switch to Linux. Kubuntu won it for me hands down over the other distributions after giving it a try. But more to the point after trying Quanta and Kompozer they just did not have all the features im used to compared to dreamweaver so i was able to install wine them ported dreamweaver CS3 onto it. I also installed ies4linux "I have to check my apps on IE for development reasons"

Now all this works great While just using my laptop this all goes PEAR Shaped when i connect my dual display.

The problem :
I have a new HP Pavilion dv7 2104tx. It coes with a wonderfull ATI HD 4650 1 GB Scrren card. Which is awsome after spending 3 hours trying to get it set up. Well i did get it set up and im using the propriety drivers . Configured with independant displayes. So i can drag windows across and then maximes them and they wont expand over both monitors. And the monitors are are configured with different resolutions. "Im not using Big Desktop Setting"

So now when i open dreamweaver or ie6 my screen goes blank "Black". I Thought my displayed had died but i saw my mouse curser "It had hung - i couldnt move it" but it was 3 times the normal size. so im guessing that when i try open dreamweaver that opens in full screen it is trying to change my resolution and that is where it hangs. Does the exact same with IE4linux.

But then if i reboot without the second monitor it all works great and i can code away without any problem. exept haing to alt-tab between many many windows.

My Thoughts: