PDA

View Full Version : [other] Dual boot or not?

ex-windowuser
October 22nd, 2009, 08:07 PM
I was wondering what is the benefit of having a dual boot computer besides falling back to Windows (or other OS) in an emergency. Since we can use VirtualBox to run other OS, is it better to run a computer all Ubuntu or not. But is there a benefit, if any to just install Ubuntu? Be nice pls., I'm a newbie.

earthpigg
October 22nd, 2009, 08:12 PM
hi,

four options.

1) WUBI install. good for test driving ubuntu on a windows computer, otherwise not so great.

2) WINE in ubuntu to run windows apps. not reliable, but the best option for 3d video games.

3) dual boot. best of both worlds, but can't have both running at the same time.

4) XP in the proprietary version of VBox (http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads). if your system has the RAM and you don't play 3d video games in windows, this is the best solution. you can use the proprietary version gratis if you are a home user.

4a) XP in the OSE version of vbox in the ubuntu repositories. this has limited functionality, but works fine for many. things like the CD drive, USB, and guest additions (for mouse pointer integration, folder sharing, etc) either don't work, or don't work quite as well.... this is Sun Microsystem's business model, of course :D

edit:

if you currently have vbox OSE installed and want to move to the proprietary version, uninstall vbox OSE, restart your computer, then install the proprietary virtualbox.

virtualbox is an exception to a lot of general rules about ubuntu.... normally, one doesn't need to restart to install/remove software. normally, one should stick to the ubuntu repositories and not download stuff from websites. etc.

linux4life88
October 22nd, 2009, 08:23 PM
I personally hate dual booting. I don't really have a great reason why, basically it is just personal preference. I would try dual booting and virtualizing and see which you like better. That is really the only way to know.