PDA

View Full Version : Scripting/programming?

nothingman02
October 20th, 2009, 08:41 PM
HI everybody,
Im new to this field and am right now introducing myself to all concepts. Iam touching on programming right now and have some very basic doubts..

1) What actually is scripting and how is it different from programming?

2) What actually is shell scripting and how is it different from any other scripting or programming languages.

thanks for the help. I have been receiving a lot of help here in this forum and thanks again for taking the time.

Bachstelze
October 20th, 2009, 08:45 PM
1) The difference is very vague. Usually, "scripting" refers to programming in interpreted languages, but it's really still programming.

2) Shell scripting is making scripts that are to be interpreted by a shell (Bash, ash, ksh, etc.). It is just another language.

nothingman02
October 20th, 2009, 08:55 PM
HI and thanks for the reply.

1) So could I assume that there isnt really a whole lot of difference?
That is, I could substitute a scripting language with a programming language or vice versa to accomplish THE SAME TASK?
I could substitute say C++ with Python for developing applications? And can I use C++ to develop scripts that are embedded in applications?

Bachstelze
October 20th, 2009, 08:59 PM
That is, I could substitute a scripting language with a programming language or vice versa to accomplish THE SAME TASK?

Yes. However, a given task might be easier to accomplish in one language than in another. That's why we have different languages. :)

martrn
October 20th, 2009, 09:00 PM
What actually is scripting and how is it different from programming?

Programming the writing, debugging and testing of instructions that are written for a computer, where a computer can take the instructions and interpret and following them performing a set of actions.