PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else feel angry at younger generations?

NoaHall
October 16th, 2009, 01:27 PM
Hm. In schools now, in the UK, kids are going to get 2 GCSES for maths. They are going to be taught programming at the same time. I hate them for this. I had to spend my own free time to do a extra maths GCSE, and there was no programming at all until my current level, and even now, it's like sitting in a room of people that constantly need their hands held.

I wish I was born a few years later. Then I'd get a extra GCSE without doing as much work outside of the lessons, and I'd get taught programming for real. All I know is self taught, no one has been there to help me. So I don't see why they should get any.

OpenGuard
October 16th, 2009, 01:33 PM
Why would you be angry to those who've this opportunity, instead of those who made this happen only now ( not a few years ago ) ?

steeleyuk
October 16th, 2009, 01:33 PM
No point whinging about it. What about those people from the generation or two before you, who didn't even get the opportunity to use computers in school or college?

NoaHall
October 16th, 2009, 01:34 PM
Because they don't deserve it. They are going to be a better choice for employers(not that I want one, self-employed), and for universities.

Swagman
October 16th, 2009, 01:37 PM
Jealousy is an immature emotion.

Many of us could spout comments about how WE didn't even have pocket calculators at school let alone computers.

And also sit on plastic chairs in demountable buildings (with no air con) in 39c

OpenGuard
October 16th, 2009, 01:39 PM
Because they don't deserve it. They are going to be a better choice for employers(not that I want one, self-employed), and for universities.

Envy ...

NoaHall
October 16th, 2009, 01:41 PM
And? It's wrong to be envious of people because they are more likely to get the same job you apply to, despite the fact the only thing they've done is be born a few years later?

OpenGuard
October 16th, 2009, 01:43 PM