PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No internet , wired router



cookie365
October 15th, 2009, 11:19 PM
Hi

I'm a total Linux newbie so apologies if this has been answered before.

Just installed 9.04 as sole OS.

My internet is DSL to a cable modem, through a router (netgear wgr614v6). From there it's a wired connection to the Ubuntu PC.

However, when I try to connect to the internet Firefox can't find any website. If I try to connect directly to the router Firefox tells me that the connection was refused.

I'm sure it's not a problem with the modem or router - I'm typing this on a PC connecting wirelessly to the same router, and there isn't any MAC filtering set up.

Do I perhaps need to install chipset drivers for my mobo? It's a Gigabyte GA-M720-US3 which uses nForce 720D.

Thanks

jbrown96
October 15th, 2009, 11:54 PM
No you shouldn't have to install any drivers. could you post the output from the following commands. Execute them in a terminal: Applications-->Accessories-->terminal.


ifconfig

sudo lshw -class network
Then try to request a ip address with
sudo dhclient

cookie365
October 16th, 2009, 12:31 AM
Thank you for taking the time to reply jbrown96 - it's very much appreciated :)

Here's what I get:

ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:1d:60:03:1d
inet6 addr: fe80::224:1dff:fe60:31d/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:233 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:16904 (16.9 KB) TX bytes:2178 (2.1 KB)
Interrupt:252 Base address:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:116 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:116 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8936 (8.9 KB) TX bytes:8936 (8.9 KB)

sudo lshw -class network

*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 02
serial: 00:24:1d:60:03:1d
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 1GB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix vpd bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8169 driverversion=2.3LK-NAPI duplex=full latency=0 link=yes module=r8169 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s
*-network DISABLED
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 1
logical name: pan0
serial: 32:eb:a5:6a:46:b2
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A link=yes multicast=yes

sudo dhclient

Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/pan0/32:eb:a5:6a:46:b2
Sending on LPF/pan0/32:eb:a5:6a:46:b2
Listening on LPF/eth0/00:24:1d:60:03:1d
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:24:1d:60:03:1d
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5
DHCPDISCOVER on pan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPOFFER of 192.168.1.3 from 192.168.1.1
DHCPREQUEST of 192.168.1.3 on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
DHCPACK of 192.168.1.3 from 192.168.1.1
chown: failed to get attributes of `/etc/resolv.conf': No such file or directory
chmod: failed to get attributes of `/etc/resolv.conf': No such file or directory
bound to 192.168.1.3 -- renewal in 37938 seconds.

Not sure I like the words 'DISABLED' and 'failed' there ;)

Thank you :)

sandyd
October 16th, 2009, 12:40 AM
Hi

I'm a total Linux newbie so apologies if this has been answered before.

Just installed 9.04 as sole OS.

My internet is DSL to a cable modem, through a router (netgear wgr614v6). From there it's a wired connection to the Ubuntu PC.

However, when I try to connect to the internet Firefox can't find any website. If I try to connect directly to the router Firefox tells me that the connection was refused.

I'm sure it's not a problem with the modem or router - I'm typing this on a PC connecting wirelessly to the same router, and there isn't any MAC filtering set up.

Do I perhaps need to install chipset drivers for my mobo? It's a Gigabyte GA-M720-US3 which uses nForce 720D.

Thanks
one line answer today.
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/588366.html

cookie365
October 17th, 2009, 03:53 PM
Oddly, it just kicked into life half an hour later without any intervention.

Computers ... :confused: :P

LewRockwell
October 17th, 2009, 03:57 PM
one line answer today.
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/588366.html

oh carlee, you're so sensible...

lol

.

LewRockwell
October 17th, 2009, 03:59 PM
Oddly, it just kicked into life half an hour later without any intervention.

LAN leases might have expired and the reset provided connectivity

.