PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Network Printer Ubuntu & XP

cmcanulty
October 15th, 2009, 05:53 PM
I am the tech support person for our local library and recently installed Ubuntu Jaunty on our 6 public PCs. One has a HP LaserJet 2100M installed and connected to it. That machine and the other Ubuntus print OK but the XP and Apple I can't get to print. I have tried several procedures with no luck.We also are having print delays of several minutes from the Ubuntu that has the printer attached when we try to print anything except text. I am not a professional tech person but am fairly proficient at XP. It was my idea to install Ubuntu on the public machines, but if I am to be allowed to keep the Ubuntus I have to get the 3 librarians XP machines to print also. I am at the library today from now 1pm EST USA to 7pm if anyone could call and help me get this working. I can call you right back so you don't pay for a long distance call. Thank you hopefully someone. The number here is 1-231-882-4037.

chili555
October 15th, 2009, 08:00 PM
Please check here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=2124612&postcount=2

It has been a while since I allowed XP to run here, so I can't swear this works, still, but it should.

cmcanulty
October 15th, 2009, 09:57 PM
PS we have a dynamic IP address as a static one costs too much extra.

cmcanulty
October 15th, 2009, 09:59 PM
I am afraid I don't know how to assign a static ip address as we have a dynamic one here at the library. A static one costs a lot more.

chili555
October 16th, 2009, 02:04 AM