PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Errors,.. Log Files.. what do they mean .. ??

Kaizzer
October 13th, 2009, 11:16 PM
Hello everyone ..
The following are absolutely a newbie questions.

im new to this Linux/Ubuntu world (3 weeks or so) and in this time i've been trying to install/compile/modify several applications or files..from Desktop Themes to applications like conky passing through USB modem configuration. Since im new to this, its not an extrange thing that i made some mistakes.. but this i think is a very good way to lear about Linux.

The problem is that in some cases, i made my ladtop crash a lot and it has stoped me to keep learning couse im affraid to damage this Ubuntu instalation and some how lost all my data.. and here the very frist question:

1) Is there a real danger of loosing all my data some how? im using a personal folder on my desktop to manage all my files. (work & personal). What operations/acctions should i consider as forbiden in linux so i wont face that risk ?

2) in some crashes, my machine goes directly to reboot so i can not see what errors are.. (i was trying to complile the "conky" app on 8.04 and it was a mess....) is there any log where i can see what went wrong? .. also in some of those crashes and on reboot, it shows some errors but they dont appear for long .. (looks like windows error when having files corrupted.. )

3) i've looked . on the log file viewer but it has little information for me to pull of since i dont know where to lookup to .. if someone could redirectme to the propper information link or explain it to me.. would be most appreciated.

Thank you all in advance..
Regards.

oldos2er
October 14th, 2009, 12:29 AM
There's always a possibility of data loss; keeping good backups is always a must, in my opinion.

Why are you compiling programs? Much easier to install them from the repositories. See https://help.ubuntu.com/9.04/add-applications/C/index.html and http://psychocats.net/ubuntu/installingsoftware

Kaizzer