PDA

View Full Version : how to set up proxy through command line



oaridus
October 13th, 2009, 03:11 PM
Hi, I have a computer which is connected to the net using a proxy. I have debian ETCH as one of the operating systems which is available only in command line mode. How do I setup the proxy then. details of the proxy are

proxy : facultyproxy.iiit.ac.in port: 8080
username: sudhir.rao
password : something

please help!

mike1821
October 14th, 2009, 02:49 PM
You can use the following command:



export http_proxy="http://facultyproxy.iiit.ac.in:8080"
export ftp_proxy="http://facultyproxy.iiit.ac.in:8080"

Sarmacid
October 14th, 2009, 04:40 PM
Actually the full string would be
export http_proxy="http://sudhir.rao:something@facultyproxy.iiit.ac.in:8080"
export ftp_proxy="http://sudhir.rao:something@facultyproxy.iiit.ac.in:8080"

vasdjs
October 18th, 2009, 01:25 PM
Hi, I've also been having trouble with proxy settings. If you set them up like this, how do you get rid of them when changing locations, e'g to a location where you do not need to use a proxy server? TIA vasdjs