PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI Radeon X1600 Drivers

olihawes
October 12th, 2009, 09:31 PM
Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu, and I'm trying to get drivers for my graphics card to install. I've downloaded them from the ATI website, and tried to execute the .run file with this command:

sudo bash ati-driver-installer-9-3-x86.x86_64.run

It goes fine, and even comes up with a title, but then always gives me this:

Error: ./default_policy.sh does not support version
default:v2:i686:lib::none:2.6.31-11-generic; make sure that the version is being
correctly set by --iscurrentdistro

Removing temporary directory: fglrx-install.girakh

The graphics card is an ATI Radeon X1600, in a 17" Intel iMac. I've tried it in 9.04 and 9.10, both virtualised in VirtualBox with Mac OS 10.6.1 as host OS, and both with the same error.

Thanks in advance for any help =D

ssri
October 13th, 2009, 06:27 AM
1) Catalyst 9.3 will only work with Xserver v1.5.2, not v1.6.x and above. So, you may have to downgrade your Xserver (http://tan-com.com/posts/technology/fix-ubuntu-904-ati-driver-issue)

2) Catalyst 9.3 only supports kernels 2.6.28 and below. There is a patch for 2.6.29 [(http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=25105);(http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-hardware-18/fglrx-9.3-patch-for-2.6.29.x-kernel-722858/)]. In short, best to stick with the opensource drivers for your environment.

olihawes
October 13th, 2009, 07:06 PM
Ah, thank you. I didn't realise there where open-source drivers.

I've downloaded one from x.org, but I am unsure of how to install it. There doesn't seem to be any form of executable file, and there aren't any instructions either.

Sorry for being useless =P

morrie
October 13th, 2009, 08:28 PM
I posted to a thread here about that error:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1288652

(Solved the error, but the install still failed).

Maybe you can get it to work and tell me how?

I have a Radeon X1650(AGP).