PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ltsp thin client atom

shashikant876
October 9th, 2009, 09:25 AM
I am using ubuntu 8.04 with thin clients the server is P4 machine and all thin clients are old P3 and celeron machine with bootrom.

Now for power saving purpose we are trying these new Atom with D945GCLF motherboard based machines but it seems there is a problem, the machine boots and the login screen comes but once i login there is only mouse cursor and blank screen.

I am unable to solve these problem

Please help me with this problem.

Thanx in advance

Regards
Shashikant

fnjordy
October 9th, 2009, 11:01 AM
Try booting the Atom from a LiveCD first to see if it's all supported and functional with regular Ubuntu. If that fails repeat using a 9.04 then a 9.10 beta LiveCD to see if you need to update the server.

AlexanderDGreat
October 11th, 2009, 03:16 PM
Hi shashikant876,

Sorry for stepping in your thread, but can I ask a question? I can't find the answer anywhere. I'm a newbie.

If you say you have thin clients in your P3 and Celeron machines, it means they're NOT using their processors and memory, right?

So if you're using an Intel Atom now, does it mean it doesn't also use its processor, board, and RAM?

The reason I asked this is because I just bought an Intel Atom D945GCLF2 dual-core as a thin client. I'm even planning to buy more, but if it doesn't use its hardware, I'm afraid I'm wasting money!

Hoping for your enlightenment.

epsolon77
October 12th, 2009, 06:47 PM
Hi shashikant876,

Sorry for stepping in your thread, but can I ask a question? I can't find the answer anywhere. I'm a newbie.

If you say you have thin clients in your P3 and Celeron machines, it means they're NOT using their processors and memory, right?

So if you're using an Intel Atom now, does it mean it doesn't also use its processor, board, and RAM?