PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Adding Users to Groups

burtzacarach
October 9th, 2009, 06:14 AM
Hello everyone.
I am a newer user of Ubuntu and I just today installed it onto my home desktop. I've been running it on my laptop for a few months now and I'm really enjoying it.
I am the only user of my laptop so when I installed it there I wasn't concerned about multiple users and grouping, so I never needed to adjust any of those settings, but on my desktop it's a different story.
My entire family uses it, and I wanted to try to set up an environment on the computer where my younger ones couldn't adjust any settings that could damage the system. I read somewhere that linux-based operating systems excel in multi-user setups, which sounded perfect.
Through using Windows for years I felt I had a general understanding of user groups, so after adding all the appropriate users, I placed them all into fitting groups.
After perhaps putting a little too much thought into this, I decided to take myself out of the "admin" group. My rational was that sometimes I just don't log off and my kids are so eager to hop on right away that I still wanted a final safeguard against system threat, and the root password would check as the administrator's.
This didn't quite work out like I'd thought it would, and now I can't unlock my Users and Groups menu to change my group back.

TL;DR: What steps do I take to adjust user groups through the terminal?
Thanks for the help!

rippin
October 9th, 2009, 06:20 AM
<snip>

TL;DR: What steps do I take to adjust user groups through the terminal?
Thanks for the help!

Boot to single mode, use root password, change your user's rights via 'adduser' command:

NAME
adduser, addgroup - add a user or group to the system

burtzacarach
October 9th, 2009, 06:38 AM
Thanks.
I'm not sure if this worked yet, tho...
I don't know what booting into single mode is haha.

rippin
October 9th, 2009, 06:52 AM
Thanks.
I'm not sure if this worked yet, tho...