PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] vector of vectors help in c++ ???

MrStill
October 8th, 2009, 05:07 PM
Hi,

I am an intermediate Java programmer and I am trying to learn C++ so that I can be more versatile. I am working on a function definition which returns a vector of vectors. My code looks like this:

vector< vector<double> > NumericalAnalysis::extrapolate(double h, double x, double tolerance){
vector< vector<double> > output(1, vector<double>(1));
output[0][0] = derivative(x, h);
int row = 1;
do{
output.push_back(vector<double>(row + 1));
output[row][0] = derivative(x, h / (row + 1));
for(int column = 1; column <= row; column++){
output[row][column] = 1 / (pow(4, column - 1) - 1);
output[row][column] *= (output[row][column - 1] - output[row - 1][column - 1]);
output[row][column] += output[row][column - 1];
}
row++;
}while(fabs(output[row][row] - output[row - 1][row - 1]) > tolerance );
return output;
}

And my function header in the .h file looks like this:

vector< vector<double> > extrapolate(double,double, double);

G++ dose not like my function header:

NumericalAnalysis.h:9: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘vector’ with no type
NumericalAnalysis.h:9: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘<’ token

If anyone has any ideas on what I am doing wrong, they would be much appreciated. And though I am a Java programmer, I do understand pointers.

Thanks

dwhitney67
October 8th, 2009, 05:15 PM
In your header file, include <vector>. Also, in every place in the header file where you reference the vector type, preface this type with the std:: namespace qualifier. For example:

#include <vector>
std::vector< std::vector<double> > extrapolate(double,double, double);

In your .cpp file, feel free to employ either the use of "using namespace std;" or "using std::vector;" in the global space, or just continue to use the "std::" preface in front of the vector type.

MadCow108
October 8th, 2009, 05:20 PM