PDA

View Full Version : learning to program in C

Otiosedodge
October 6th, 2009, 06:26 PM
Hi Folks,

I'd really like to get into programming with C, really starting from 0. Do any of you know of what the best way to do this is? Ideally I'd like to end up developing software for Linux.

Thanks

Bachstelze
October 6th, 2009, 06:28 PM
You mean you have zero experience of programming? You might want to start with something simpler, like Python.

ApEkV2
October 6th, 2009, 06:49 PM
I started out with Bash scripting. It's a good starting point, and probably easier than Python

NoaHall
October 6th, 2009, 06:54 PM
bash -> perl -> gtk -> php(if you want some experience with similar syntax) -> python/java -> C

Try that. It's probably a easier route to take.

Otiosedodge
October 6th, 2009, 06:55 PM
Yes, I have zero experience. It might also be worth mentioning that I'm starting a bachelor's degree in computing this year which is quite Java-intensive, so that may make a difference. And it might also make a difference that I have very good logical abilities. Would you still recommend starting out with Python, and in any case, could you tell me a good starting point? Thanks again

forrestcupp
October 6th, 2009, 07:15 PM
Well, you can go ahead and start with C, and just realize that it's not easy if you don't have any experience. If you stick with it, it's not impossible, though. The reason people suggest to start with something easier is because you see results more quickly, and there's a little less chance you'll give up.

Here's a decent online C tutorial. (http://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial.html#ctutorial)

nvteighen
October 6th, 2009, 07:15 PM
I'd recommend you Python -> C -> (anything else). Python has very clean syntax and semantics and also very good resources to teach beginners. That's a combination worth to take account of.