PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] a clean break



Dauphinfay
February 11th, 2006, 04:21 PM
If you remember the Arnold Schwarzenegger movie Running Man then you can relate to my torrent relationship with both linux and windoze (just for the record, I remember reading the short story the movie was based on long before it came out; they could have done a much better job with it). The scene from that movie that I am specifically refering to is where our champion of all that is righteous, finds our governor...er uh, hero near an invisible fenceline. inmates were wearing the latest fashion of electronic shock collars that should the individual go past a certain point in the fenceline a powerful and overwelming 'headache' would occur to say the least (suddenly, 'don't lose your head' takes on a literal meaning in this case). This has been how my migration to linux has been....like an inmate's desperate attempt to escape. I doubt anyone from stalag 13 had as much difficulty as I have.

As much as I have come to love linux, there are, unfortuanately, some pieces of software that I cannot do without as they are necessary for my job. The most important (shock collar) of which is Point from Calyx. There is another piece of relatively unknown software that my company uses that I would like to use but that is more of a convience factor. I found that Point requires .NET and as of now it is not supported in linux...yet. so while I have migrated completely over to linux at home (minus one ibook for obvious reasons), I have to put up with ALL of the usual pains that I would equate to Chinese water torture...you know it's coming but you just can't stop it. I have read somewhere of an individual who successfully managed to run Point in linux but I can't for the life of me find that article.

I have played hot potato with the idea of VMware for this purpose. Functionaly speaking this would work, but there is something to be said for running software natively. I don't even care much for wine. Although, in the case of wine I find that more often than not I am forced to use an old version of winex3. The idea of a virtual machine of windows is just archaic. You wouldn't enter a new Mercedes-Benz into a crash derby. However, if you would consider such an act then let me help you take that 'aweful' car off of your hands and pm me.

On the other side of the frying pan there are some sunnyside up eggs in the form of me using a live cd at work whenever possible. This is always met by co-workers with the same quizical look and the next words uttered out of there mouth is as invariable as the fact that M$ code will never be opened to the public. *Sigh* I enjoy explaining the alternative to them though. Even if they almost always say they have never even heard of linux. I feel sorry for the critters being led to the slaghter without a clue (anyone got a taste for bacon?). When all is said and done though, I don't have the million and one problems that others have while using a live cd. Although, I am still trying different distros out for the task. I am going to try Kanotix here today (yes, a broker who works on the weekend!) My goal is that in ten years I want to say 'Bill who?'

All in all I am quite happy with my choice to move away from windoze (sp? :P). I can still remember my very first experience with linux. It consisted of me and a new installed slackware box, my cell phone, my buddy two states over, and a heated conversation that can be summed up best with one snipit: "WHAT THE HELL IS A 'TAR' COMMAND!?!?!?" Ah, the memories are golden, aren't they?


P.S. If anyone knows of a mirror where i can find linuxq3apoint-1.32b-3.x86.run for Quake 3 I would appreciate it. The idsoftware ftp site is acting up. What? You never saw a broker who knew how to have fun? That's all for now. Viva la Resistor!..or whatever.

starscalling
September 21st, 2006, 10:19 AM
*patpatpat*
believe me i understand your ire
i on the other hand am going to try a vmware point install
ill check back in to let u know how it goes :)

Rumor
September 21st, 2006, 03:30 PM
P.S. If anyone knows of a mirror where i can find linuxq3apoint-1.32b-3.x86.run for Quake 3 I would appreciate it. The idsoftware ftp site is acting up. What? You never saw a broker who knew how to have fun? That's all for now. Viva la Resistor!..or whatever.

PM me and I will give you my ftp server info. I have the file there.

bethalicea
February 28th, 2007, 05:44 PM
*patpatpat*
believe me i understand your ire
i on the other hand am going to try a vmware point install
ill check back in to let u know how it goes :)
What ever happened with this? I'm new to Linux and also need to be able to run Point. I have not migrated to Linux yet, but am in the planning stages and will do this at home within the next month. Work is different. We are in the process of setting up a Modular Homes sales center and will run our mortgage office out of it. All new equipment and software will be used here, and I need to know what to do. My husband will be using the software applications (I'm just the geek to set them up!) and he is technologically challenged! Any advice?

DoctorMO
February 28th, 2007, 06:26 PM
It would be interesting to hear what has become of our OP friend.

prizrak
February 28th, 2007, 07:02 PM
I love bacon and hate Benz's so I guess the OP is half OK ;)

veloce
February 28th, 2007, 11:54 PM
What ever happened with this? I'm new to Linux and also need to be able to run Point. I have not migrated to Linux yet, but am in the planning stages and will do this at home within the next month. Work is different. We are in the process of setting up a Modular Homes sales center and will run our mortgage office out of it. All new equipment and software will be used here, and I need to know what to do. My husband will be using the software applications (I'm just the geek to set them up!) and he is technologically challenged! Any advice?

What is "Point"? Does it use 3D Graphics? That's about the only hole in the vmware offering. Otherwise, I can't see why there'd be any problem.

Here's how to test this before you make the switch.. Install vmware server for windows, create your vm and install point. If it works under vmware server for windows, then it will work under linux. You can expect the performance of the vm to be better under linux after you switch.

Sammi
March 1st, 2007, 12:52 AM
I just checked when the OP last made a post. It was in July 2006. He was having problems upgrading from Breezy to Dapper, and then he just stopped posting. I'd say he's gone, we lost him.

Netspeed
March 22nd, 2007, 11:18 PM
What is "Point"? Does it use 3D Graphics? That's about the only hole in the vmware offering. Otherwise, I can't see why there'd be any problem.

Here's how to test this before you make the switch.. Install vmware server for windows, create your vm and install point. If it works under vmware server for windows, then it will work under linux. You can expect the performance of the vm to be better under linux after you switch.

I think the 'point" she was referring to is Calyx Point...it's a mortgage origination software program (industry standard). It may be hard to run because it uses .Net and I haven't had any luck running anything .Net so far.

jeffc313
March 23rd, 2007, 01:35 AM
I love bacon and hate Benz's so I guess the OP is half OK ;)

The 190e? come on, you got to love em with the //AMG body kit and the mercedes hood orniment. If i can find a cheap 5-speed, I would definately get one.

prizrak
March 23rd, 2007, 04:43 AM
The 190e? come on, you got to love em with the //AMG body kit and the mercedes hood orniment. If i can find a cheap 5-speed, I would definately get one.

Well the 190E Cosworth is a whole different story. Much less of a Benz and more of a beast ;)

veloce
March 23rd, 2007, 10:31 AM
I think the 'point" she was referring to is Calyx Point...it's a mortgage origination software program (industry standard). It may be hard to run because it uses .Net and I haven't had any luck running anything .Net so far.

So .NET stuff doesn't run under vmware?

veloce
March 23rd, 2007, 10:32 AM
Well the 190E Cosworth is a whole different story. Much less of a Benz and more of a beast ;)

Am I on the wrong list?

I'd rather be driving an Alfa.

Antebios
April 6th, 2009, 05:34 PM
The good news is that you can install the .Net Frameworks 1.1 and 2.0 into WINE via the wintricks (http://www.kegel.com/wine/winetricks) script. I found that it is better to install Calyx Point on a clean WINE folder;



cd ~
mv .wine .wine_old
THEN run wintricks script


Then I insert the Calyx Point cd-rom, double-click the installer, I get a small error during install (I don't remember what it was) then the install continues and I see my Calyx icon on my Ubuntu desktop. I launch the program and I get an .Net runtime error or another error that says:

"failed to load resources from resource file"

Apparently this is a common error with .Net Framework 1.1 apps runninging in wine, but I haven't heard of Framework 2.0 having problems.

I might wait to get my hands on Calyx Point 7.0, which uses .Net Framework 2.0, to see if I can get it running in WINE again.

This doesn't mean I have given up on getting Calyx Point 6.0 working within WINE.

Mehall
April 6th, 2009, 05:48 PM
http://sa.peteyproductions.net/savedimage/random_images/forum-necromancy!.jpg

Dauphinfay
September 28th, 2011, 03:46 AM
Yes, I was gone for a few years. I took off traveling for a few years. Since I couldn't get Point to work I simply used Ubuntu for mostly home stuff. Eventually, the computer failed and I ended up getting a Mac. I still have it but have since picked up a PC laptop for traveling...and of course ubuntu. I have to say that I'm impressed. I had to stop upgrading the old machine since newer versions of Ubuntu weren't playing nicely with it. They certainly have made it more user-friendly. If you guys had told me about LinCity-NG I would have been back sooner! ;)

I am very glad to see an ability to get .NET working. I honestly think I lost about six months of my lifespan pulling my hair out on that issue. Thank goodness no one else will have to go through that. Having said that, I'm not terribly sure how to insert the [SOLVED] tag on this thread. I'll keep looking but if you have a second, please let me know. :)

Dauphinfay
September 28th, 2011, 03:47 AM
Just figured it out.

Elfy
September 28th, 2011, 06:51 AM
Old thread closed.