PDA

View Full Version : Just curious

keygiwawah
October 5th, 2009, 01:53 PM
I don't have a lot of experience with Linux as of yet... But I was just wondering if anyone has written a Linux distribution in a different language than the norm or is it even possible. All that I know about the source is that it is written in like C# or C++, or something in that family.

Renée Jade
October 5th, 2009, 02:45 PM
The Linux kernel is written C programming language. The other programs that make up a "distribution" are written in a wide variety of programming languages. There are other UNIXs written in languages other than C, but the Linux kernel is the same for all distributions at a given time and it is only written in C (well, I suppose some small part of it must be written in something lower level than C, but that is all).

I'm no expert. People with more detailed knowledge please share :)

anagor
October 5th, 2009, 02:58 PM
Linux is quite a broad term. There are numerous components that together make what most call Linux, or GNU/Linux for purists :)
Linux distribution is just a collection of the programs/applications, from different sources, bundled (packaged, hence the term packages in most distributions) together in a coherent way.
There is in a nutshell:
kernel - direct to hardware interface,
userland - all the programs that run on top of kernel and what a user actually sees and uses.
The same true for Windows and other Oses.

So, the kernel and it's modules are written in C/C++ .
The userland applications is written in any possible programming language there is.
In Linux most popular languages are: C/C++, perl, python, ruby, C#/Mono, Java, javascript. But you are free to use any programming language you see fit for yourself.

Again, the same true for Windows, for example:
Microsoft writes most of the windows kernel and userland in C/C++, however many parts of Office 2007 are written in C#/.NET.