PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to connect to wireless router through lan

anuragupadhaya
September 22nd, 2009, 11:21 PM
i am new to ubuntu and i am using ubuntu 9.04 aka JAUNTY

i have a my internet connection through wireless router and connection to it though wifi works fine.

but the router also has 4 extra lan ports. when i try connecting to router through lan, it doesn work, most probably because i use a wpa/wpa2 key to secure my internet network.

So, my question is how can i specify a network key to connect to router through lan?

Iowan
September 23rd, 2009, 01:17 AM
WPA is a wireless security standard - it shouldn't be causing problems with the wired ports. What kind of "doesn't work" :) are you getting with the wired attempt? I presume you are attempting to get DHCP address via dhclient. Is the router configured to serve DHCP leases on the wired ports?

anuragupadhaya
September 23rd, 2009, 06:47 AM
yeh u got it right.
even i don think wired connections have anything to do with wpa security, and yes DHCP is enabled in router. what should i do??

when m attempting for wired connection, it is trying to connect for some 15-30 seconds then it says "wired connection disconnected"

i do think router is configured to serve dhcp leases on wired ports.

cariboo
September 23rd, 2009, 07:49 AM
Disable your wireless connection, then you should be able to coonect to your router, or connect a computer that has a wired connection only.

anuragupadhaya
September 23rd, 2009, 12:41 PM
Disable your wireless connection, then you should be able to coonect to your router, or connect a computer that has a wired connection only.

i tried as you said, that is connecting to router after disabling wireless and rebooted the system too. But it is not getting connected. What should i do now??:confused:

Iowan
September 23rd, 2009, 11:21 PM
For the unlikely chance it might help, try this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1156441) one.

anuragupadhaya