PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No network connection with nVidia network card (onboard)

michael_madsen
September 22nd, 2009, 06:06 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Linux/Ubuntu, but have lots of experience from Windows platform. I am trying to get Ubuntu to run on a HTPC, I have built. The system is built on an ASUS P5N7A-VM (http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=8YiUFvK51IergAqY&templete=2) motherboard, so most devices are onboard.

I have installed Ubuntu 9.04 Desktop edition. Everything seems to work fine, except that I don't seem to be connected to the internet/network. The network connection is a wired one. The NetworkManager icon in the top, right corner (next to the date) says "No network connection".

I have read around in forums for a while to try to see if I could find anything, without any luck though.

I have done the following commands:

lspci |grep Eth
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Ethernet (rev b1)

lshw -C network
WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: MCP79 Ethernet
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: a
bus info: pci@0000:00:0a.0
logical name: eth0
version: b1
serial: 00:26:18:35:b9:b9
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=forcedeth driverversion=0.61 latency=0 maxlatency=20 mingnt=1 module=forcedeth multicast=yes
*-network DISABLED
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 2
logical name: pan0
serial: 12:35:bb:ed:e5:37
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A multicast=yes

I hope this will guide any of you Linux gurus into knowing what this could be about.

scragar
September 22nd, 2009, 06:09 PM
Could you please run:

ifconfigAnd see if eth0 is listed, if not:
sudo ifconfig eth0 upWill bring it up, then try connecting with it
sudo dhcpcd eth0

michael_madsen
September 22nd, 2009, 06:36 PM
ifconfig