PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NEWBIE BCM 4311 Wireless Not Connecting

pilot26
September 21st, 2009, 09:28 PM
I am new to lynx and I have just gotten Ubuntu 9.06 and I'm having trouble connecting to my wireless, hard line works just fine.

I have tried a number of other suggestions they did not work either due to do user error or not the right fix.

I have tried the download driver but that has not worked

I have a.

*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:05:00.0
logical name: eth1
version: 01
serial: 00:14:a5:d0:34:88
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=wl0 driverversion=5.10.91.9 latency=0 module=wl multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11b

Ayuthia
September 21st, 2009, 11:41 PM
I am new to lynx and I have just gotten Ubuntu 9.06 and I'm having trouble connecting to my wireless, hard line works just fine.

I have tried a number of other suggestions they did not work either due to do user error or not the right fix.

I have tried the download driver but that has not worked

I have a.

*-network
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=wl0 driverversion=5.10.91.9 latency=0 module=wl multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11b

Can you try the following from the Terminal:

sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb wl
sudo modprobe wl
sudo iwlist scan
If it produces wireless sites, we will need to blacklist the b43 and ssb modules:

echo blacklist b43 | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
echo blacklist ssb | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
echo wl |sudo tee -a /etc/modules
This will prevent the b43 module from interfering with the Broadcom STA wireless module and then load the correct module when you restart your computer. Hope that helps.

pilot26
September 22nd, 2009, 12:35 AM
When I run: