PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Screen Resolution still not working



bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 07:42 PM
I ran the xrandr command and this was the results:

root@dvvpn:/home/dvvpn# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 800 x 600, maximum 800 x 600
default connected 800x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
800x600 61.0*
640x480 60.0


This machine was running on on a much higher resolution before installing Ubuntu.

Any and all help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Aaron

SunnyRabbiera
September 16th, 2009, 07:44 PM
You know ever since Ubuntu lost its decent monitor helper this has been an issue, try openSUSE as it has a great monitor config tool

Ratscallion
September 16th, 2009, 07:45 PM
Try going System -> preferences -> Display, there's a screen res thingy in there... and it's simpler for newer people as it's a GUI.

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 07:54 PM
There is no display in the preferences

im running Ubuntu 8.10

whats the program called that I need to download?

Thanks for the help guys

Ratscallion
September 16th, 2009, 07:55 PM
Hmm... Try Screen Resolution? There should be something along those lines in the System menus... (that's Administration AND/OR Preferences). I haven't used 8.10 in a while, so I'm not sure here, sorry I can't help more than that!

SunnyRabbiera
September 16th, 2009, 07:57 PM
There is no display in the preferences

im running Ubuntu 8.10

whats the program called that I need to download?

Thanks for the help guys

Thats odd, it should be under system > preferences

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 08:00 PM
its under screen resolution and it only gives 800x600 and 640x480

how can I change it? Also it doesnt reconize the monitor at all though?



Hmm... Try Screen Resolution? There should be something along those lines in the System menus... (that's Administration AND/OR Preferences). I haven't used 8.10 in a while, so I'm not sure here, sorry I can't help more than that!

HarrisonNapper
September 16th, 2009, 08:07 PM
What kind of monitor do you have? Have you tried searching synaptic for keywords like "monitor" or "display"? There may be some helpful tools there, as well.

rock it
September 16th, 2009, 08:07 PM
Im newbie, but....
I had problems with screen res and It all worked once I had installed my nvidia card driver. Then nvidia x server settings.

dunno if tht will help.

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 08:11 PM
It's an acer AL2216W
Graphic card is ATI 3D mach64

I have searched for the dirvers but i just cannot find them.




What kind of monitor do you have? Have you tried searching synaptic for keywords like "monitor" or "display"? There may be some helpful tools there, as well.

Ratscallion
September 16th, 2009, 08:13 PM
So you say that the Display settings doesn't help in System -> Preferences? Odd...
I shan't ignore rock it, so try doing what they said.

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 08:25 PM
Would the nvidia card driver and nvidia x server settings work on an ATI card??

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 08:29 PM
so i was able to get something different working but the monitor is posting a message saying input no accepted... im rebooting to see what happens

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 08:45 PM
well i was able to get it to have a bigger res but when i changed it the monitor has a screen saver that sayss input is not supported???

SunnyRabbiera
September 16th, 2009, 08:47 PM
well i was able to get it to have a bigger res but when i changed it the monitor has a screen saver that sayss input is not supported???

Hmm, well cant say much here other then maybe another distro lays in your future.

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 09:02 PM
Well the range i had selected was to large

and now im just trying to change it in the xorg.conf file



Hmm, well cant say much here other then maybe another distro lays in your future.

DJonsson2008
September 16th, 2009, 09:28 PM
A small modification to the xorg.conf did it for me,
I found even just using generic Vesa drivers I
could get higher resolution and refresh rates.

As well though its work the price of an Nvidia card
simply for the compatibility it seems, although until
recently my 9000 series seemed to be bleeding edge for
8.04 LTS recent updates have corrected this.

This is discussed more in detail at this link.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1126931&goto=newpost

For now this is what I put in my xorg.conf.
for the screen display at 1024x786@76

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
Vendorname "Acer"
Modelname "Acer AL1916W"
Horizsync 30.0-82.0
Vertrefresh 56.0-76.0
EndSection

DJonsson2008
September 16th, 2009, 09:31 PM
CAVEAT: Make sure via MFG specs or testing on another machine
your monitor can take the parameters you put in xorg.conf.
I've yet to do it myself but it seems somebody could fry
a monitor with the wrong parameters, and sometimes I wonder
if that isn't why do much disclaimer comes with these Linux
graphic drivers and Linux.

bigboy7foru
September 16th, 2009, 09:32 PM
A small modification to the xorg.conf did it for me,
I found even just using generic Vesa drivers I
could get higher resolution and refresh rates.

As well though its work the price of an Nvidia card
simply for the compatibility it seems, although until
recently my 9000 series seemed to be bleeding edge for
8.04 LTS recent updates have corrected this.

This is discussed more in detail at this link.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1126931&goto=newpost

For now this is what I put in my xorg.conf.
for the screen display at 1024x786@76

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
Vendorname "Acer"
Modelname "Acer AL1916W"
Horizsync 30.0-82.0
Vertrefresh 56.0-76.0
EndSection



Do you know the command to edit the xorg.config file??

DJonsson2008
September 16th, 2009, 09:36 PM
i'm not on a linux box at the moment,
but recall it as

sudo gedit /etc/xll/xorg.conf

or use cd /etc
cd /x11
and sudo gedit xorg.conf

if my memory serves me well

DJonsson2008
September 16th, 2009, 09:41 PM
locate xorg.conf

will tell you where the file is.

then use sudo gedit

be sure and back up the file you have,
if it is working at all

i believe that something like

cp xorg.conf xorg_lores.bak would work.

bigboy7foru
September 17th, 2009, 07:27 PM
http://myy.helia.fi/~karte/acer_al2216w_-_22_inch_monitor_with_linux.html


fixed it thanks

Ratscallion
September 17th, 2009, 08:34 PM
Now you seem to be done, can you do what the bold bit in my signature says? Thanks :)

bigboy7foru
September 17th, 2009, 11:07 PM
sorry i was trying to figure out how to do it lol thanks :)