PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] complete newb "sudo" problem

cutoffmyfireman
September 16th, 2009, 06:17 AM
first ten minutes ever using linux so give me a break here, lol. trying to install flash. and I get this error

"failed to run /usr/sbin/synaptic =hid main window= non interactive 'set selections file'. /tmp/tmpLlbLGS as user root. the underlying authorize mechanism (sudo) does not allow to run this program."

wtf. basically says i need the administrators permission, but thats what I am. help?

thanks in advanced for leveling with me, and feel free to poke fun as long as you solve the problem, ha.

pastalavista
September 16th, 2009, 06:24 AM
How were you trying to install flash? What application prompted that error message?

stumbleUpon
September 16th, 2009, 06:24 AM
Welcome to Ubuntu..!!

If you are the only user on your machine, then your password is also the root password. Thus when you need to perform some tasks that require administrative privileges, then you can use your own password.

This and many other details are explained in the freely available book here

http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/download_main.html

Regarding installation of packages, you need to use synaptic and this also requires administrative privileges (which means again the same password as yours). See here for more info on this

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SynapticHowto

zeroseven0183
September 16th, 2009, 06:26 AM
I think what it's saying is that you run the command with sudo. Did you include sudo before the command (assuming it's executed in the Terminal).

You can also download the Flash Player in the Download site of Adobe (http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/). Just select .deb in the dropdown box for Ubuntu. Once downloaded, you will be asked for the root password.

By the way, welcome to the Forums!

cutoffmyfireman
September 16th, 2009, 06:27 AM
i appreciate the quick replies, and yeah I'm using the password I logged in with.