PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I am a new Ubuntu junkie! (but I have a small problem)

roasterx
September 15th, 2009, 05:17 PM
Friends, Geeks, Lovers!

After many years of a secret crush on Linux, I have finally installed Ubuntu and It is so exciting.

But I have a problem.

I'm a science teacher on a secret mission of using Ubuntu on all of my lab machines. After installing Ubuntu, I am unable to connect to our network. This is where I need your help.

Treat me like a Linux newborn, let's start from the beginning and you'll have the satisfaction of knowing that you've helped to bring Linux into a public setting.

Tell me what I need to do and I will do it.

Yours in nerdery.

mike555
September 15th, 2009, 05:27 PM
a little more info would help, when you say "lab machines" does that mean they are independent desktops running sharing or what?

drinkpepsi
September 15th, 2009, 06:06 PM
Which version of Ubuntu are you using? When you say join the network, is this a new network between the lab machines, or you are trying to join an existing windows network with these machines?

roasterx
September 15th, 2009, 06:28 PM
a little more info would help, when you say "lab machines" does that mean they are independent desktops running sharing or what?

Yes they are independent desktops that will be sharing (and old, which is how I am able to procure them).

Thanks so much for asking

roasterx
September 15th, 2009, 06:30 PM
Which version of Ubuntu are you using? When you say join the network, is this a new network between the lab machines, or you are trying to join an existing windows network with these machines?

I am using Ubuntu 9.04 and I am trying to join the existing school network.

Thanks so much for helping. If you guys keep asking, I will learn the answers and someday this puppy will work.

Barrucadu
September 15th, 2009, 06:39 PM
Does the network use DHCP, or does each computer have a static IP?

halitech
September 15th, 2009, 07:13 PM