PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Using joomla



chinna saaeb
September 15th, 2009, 02:51 PM
I have downloaded joomla turnkey appliance and installed on Virtual box.
I am able to connect to it.
However i have a problem.
I want to create a website on the appliance itself and publish content to it.
I could not get how to do it.

I had a static html site. Using ssh login i transfeered it to /var/www/mydir.
but i cannot view it on a browser.
The problem boils down to
1.creating a website on the joomla appliance
2.posting my content to it
The joomla quick start guide is of little help.
Can anybody guide me
PS : My computer is connected to bsnl dsl modem. this works as the dns server.

wojox
September 15th, 2009, 03:03 PM
I take it you have connected and done all the pre-installation checks.

See this link for admin help if not:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Joomla

It should be as easy as:

http://localhost/mydir/joomla

chinna saaeb
September 15th, 2009, 05:19 PM
Thanks. I am able to login to joomla. I have no problem logging on to joomla.
But what I want is
1. I want this apppliance to use my existing static pages. I should be able to log on to my existing site as
http://ip_address_of_appliance/my_site

2.I also want to replace my site created using joomla to be placed in my_site