PDA

View Full Version : Mozilla Firefox 3.5.3 -- No Java..

ubuntu_n00b
September 10th, 2009, 04:51 AM
Yes I'm new to Linux.. love Ubuntu though and this seems to be my only snag.. I can't get Firefox 3.5.3 to use Java.. I followed ALL instructions to a "T" from the Ubuntuzilla Instructions/FAQ page and can't for the life of me get this to work.. I have flash, and under about:plugins I only show Flash, no java.. What have I missed?? I'm using a fresh install of Ubuntu 9.04 x64.. Thanks!!!

Leunamal
September 10th, 2009, 04:32 PM
Yes I'm new to Linux.. love Ubuntu though and this seems to be my only snag.. I can't get Firefox 3.5.3 to use Java.. I followed ALL instructions to a "T" from the Ubuntuzilla Instructions/FAQ page and can't for the life of me get this to work.. I have flash, and under about:plugins I only show Flash, no java.. What have I missed?? I'm using a fresh install of Ubuntu 9.04 x64.. Thanks!!!

Hi, I have the same problem. How can we solve this problem?

Thanks.

nanotube
September 10th, 2009, 05:44 PM
did you guys install the ia32-sun-java6-plugin package, as suggested by the ubuntuzilla faq?

if so, and it still doesn't work, then try getting the 32bit sun-java6-plugin package.

go to http://packages.ubuntu.com/jaunty/sun-java6-plugin

then down there in the download section choose 'i386', download the .deb from one of the mirrors, install it - then restart firefox.

ubuntu_n00b
September 11th, 2009, 06:37 AM
did you guys install the ia32-sun-java6-plugin package, as suggested by the ubuntuzilla faq?

if so, and it still doesn't work, then try getting the 32bit sun-java6-plugin package.

go to http://packages.ubuntu.com/jaunty/sun-java6-plugin

then down there in the download section choose 'i386', download the .deb from one of the mirrors, install it - then restart firefox.

Doesn't work.. still no sign of Java in about : plugins.. I downloaded and tried to install the i386 but I got an error message about wrong architecture ...

nanotube