PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Best use for Ubuntu and cool features

GiantSpider
September 8th, 2009, 05:29 AM
Hey I'm new to Ubuntu and Linux and general. I'm used to using Vista. Overall my experience so far is Ubuntu is easier to learn than Vista even if you have had no experience using any Linux derivatives and lots of Windows experience.

So what are some of the best things about Ubuntu? Windows has all the drivers to play newly released games. Mac has the best graphics for Photoshop.

Good things about Ubuntu:
1. Fast
2. No cost, $100 dollars for windows hurts
3. easy to learn
4. Connected to internet right away if ethernet

nisshh
September 8th, 2009, 05:33 AM
I agree with all those points, exept that last one, i have wireless and all i do is enter my WPA key and im good to go, so wireless is almost as easy as ethernet.

mysticaltopher
September 8th, 2009, 05:34 AM
LOTS of FREE software, with no mal-ware!!!!
easier for networking with mac's and HP printers (in my experience)!!
Virtual Desktops!!!!

steveneddy
September 8th, 2009, 05:37 AM
Secure

Reliable

Stable

Better Looking than other OS's

Almost infinite configuration variables

Free as in freedom

Think about how much time you save by not scanning for virus, trojan and spyware alone by using Linux.

Frenchie4111
September 8th, 2009, 05:40 AM
Also, Ubuntu is much faster and less of a resource hog than both Vista and Mac

Sgt-Slyde
September 8th, 2009, 05:41 AM
Yep, I've got all the computers in my house running Ubuntu except my wife's laptop. I have it installed on that one but I have to wait until she finishes going through her email before I can get her weaned off Vista (the Outlook mail formats don't reliably transfer to Thunderbird or Evolution). And yeah, her main complaint with Vista is it's slow.

Frenchie4111
September 8th, 2009, 05:43 AM
Mhmm, Vista would be a great OS except for its extreme need for recourses making it slow, which is what Win7 is going to fix.