PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to mount External HD NTFS

locucho
September 8th, 2009, 03:34 AM
Hi! I'm new in Linux and Ubuntu, and I really start to try Ubuntu because I had a serious problem with the Windows Registry. I have Windows XP in a HD with 320Gb. My Pc is a AMD Athlon64 X2 (Dual Core) 5200+ 2.7Ghz (x2); Mother ASUS M2N-VM HDMI and a VIdeo ATI PowerColor HD 4650 (1Gb); and 4Gb RAM.

(Excuse me for my horrible english, I really don't speak very well, I speak spanish because I'm from Argentina)

The problem is this: My computer start to work slowly with XP, and when I reboot, It start with Windows, and in the Desktop reboot automatically, few seconds later. So, I put "not to reboot when there is an error" and it show me the famous blue screen with the explanation of the problem, talking about the Registry Error. So, my brother try to reinstall Windows XP but when he starts I tell him to stop, because the reinstallation don't format the Hard Drive but delete the Desktop and "My Documents" and all our important information, ando the music, and the movies where there, like 200 Gb or more. So, he try to cancel de process (because he put the CD of Windows and boot from there) and he couldn't, so we take the CD and reboot whit the button of the Computer Case. Now, when the computer boot from the Hard Drive, the installation files of Windows XP are there, so it try to restart the installation and ask for the XP CD.

When that happend, I think in all the information that I want to save, and I think in the Live CD of Ubuntu, because I didn't want to take de HD and read it like an External HD in an other computer and start to save all that in a lot of DVDs; and I try to start the Computer with the Live CD of Ubuntu 9.04. When I did that, I connect an other HD in a Case with USB 2.0 and I start to copy some files from my 320Gb HD to the other (160Gb, external).