PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hard drive Unallocated

Essary
September 7th, 2009, 10:32 PM
======================
libparted : 1.8.8
======================
Invalid partition table - recursive partition on /dev/sda.

I installed a second HD and copied 100 Gb of data that I really, really don't want to lose to this drive, all in windows XP. I then proceded with a fresh install of WinXP and Ubuntu. The new HD shows to be only unallocated space, and after installing Ubuntu and rebooting I get an error like "disk read error" in the boot process.

First, is there a way to get my data back that I really, really don't want to lose, or is it gone forever?

Second, why am I getting this disk read error and how do I fix it. I am planning to repartition the drive and just start over again.

I am very new to linux/ubuntu and am trying to get everything set up so I can get into linux more.

Ocxic
September 7th, 2009, 11:36 PM
you could try testdisk(in the repos), it helps with recovering partitions and data, or you could see if you can access from a windows system since you copied the files from there.

Essary
September 8th, 2009, 03:54 PM
testdisk did the trick, thank you. I can now access my files that I really, really didn't want to lose in windows and Ubuntu. However, when I look at the drive in gparted it shows that drive as unallocated space. I can still access the files/mount the drive. I should probably fix that somehow right?

For others with same problem:
In WinXp Setup there was nothing to distinguish one drive from another, they had the exact same info. I just unplugged the storage drive so I wouldn't accidentally install on it.