PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie Wireless Card Help

bvill
September 7th, 2009, 09:23 PM
I am an absolute newbie to Ubuntu but am learning. I am trying to get my 9.04 64 bit system set up but am having trouble with my wireless adapter. I have a dual boot system with Windows XP Pro 32 bit and Jaunty 64 bit. My wireless adapter in Linksys WMP300N and it works fine in XP. I have spent hours trying to configure it by browsing the forums and help sections but am still having trouble. I installed ndiswrapper and used the instructions to install bcmwl5 driver and blacklist bcm43xx. It looks like the device is recognized in lshw but I get no wireless options in Network Manager. I found what I think is an updated bcmwl5.inf driver from Linksys. Could it be that the driver I installed does not have 64 bit support but the new one I found does? If so how do I uninstall the original bcmwl5 driver and install the new one? I am a complet novice at the terminal so I apologize in advance. If anyone could hold my hand and walk me through some suggestions, I would really appreciate it. I am looking forward to migrating away from Windows, but still have a lot to learn. Thank you in advance.

mapes12
September 7th, 2009, 09:36 PM
Hello bvill

You may get other posts where you will be typing stuff into Terminal and, if my experience is anything to go by, getting nowhere. I have never had any success with ndiswrapper. My first experience got the wifi working but then after a few days it kept dropping the connection. It's much easier to get a native supported wifi card: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/WirelessCardsSupported?highlight=(supported)|(wifi )#head-e669905d73a32156274930398b3d3c3468508d45

These always work: http://www.linuxemporium.co.uk/products/wireless/ I have 3 of them in different machines

zkriesse
September 7th, 2009, 09:47 PM