PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] making a BIOS update bootable floppy?



Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 07:29 PM
I want to make a BIOS bootable floppy for an old pc using ubuntu server, my old pc has been having problems with it's BIOS.

drinkpepsi
September 7th, 2009, 07:39 PM
Try this

Bootdisk (http://www.bootdisk.com/)

LewRockwell
September 7th, 2009, 07:41 PM
I want to make a BIOS bootable floppy for an old pc using ubuntu server, my old pc has been having problems with it's BIOS.

http://www.bootdisk.com/

.

Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 07:43 PM
Is there anything that I can do with copying the files off ubuntu server then putting them on a floppy?, that's what I want to do, because my computer that I am running does not have a floppy drive the server does however.

LewRockwell
September 7th, 2009, 07:45 PM
Is there anything that I can do with copying the files off ubuntu server then putting them on a floppy?, that's what I want to do, because my computer that I am running does not have a floppy drive the server does however.

however you decide to move the data around that should be fine

.

Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 07:48 PM
any idea where/what the needed files are off ubuntu server for making a bootable floppy BIOS?

LewRockwell
September 7th, 2009, 07:51 PM
any idea where/what the needed files are off ubuntu server for making a bootable floppy BIOS?

what is a "bootable floppy BIOS"?

do you want a boot disk?

do you want to create a BIOS flashing floppy?

.

LewRockwell
September 7th, 2009, 07:53 PM
http://blogs.howtogeek.com/jatecblog/posts/make-a-floppy-boot-disk-for-ubuntu-from-linux

.

Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 07:54 PM
I just have a computer that runs a floppy drive instead its cd drive and it changes it settings to default (running floppy first) every time I logoff the BIOS on it

LewRockwell
September 7th, 2009, 07:54 PM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SmartBootManager

.

LewRockwell
September 7th, 2009, 07:56 PM
I just have a computer that runs a floppy drive instead its cd drive and it changes it settings to default (running floppy first) every time I logoff the BIOS on it

sounds like your CMOS battery is finished

perhaps you can replace it

.

Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 07:59 PM
thanks, but I now need a way to use server edition to make the floppy since my pc I am running now doesn't have a floppy drive, is there a directory on server edition that I can copy over to the floppy to make it a bootable?what code would I use to make the floppy with in server edition?

Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 08:02 PM
sounds like your CMOS battery is finished

perhaps you can replace it

.
I think that it is too but I have no idea where it is located or what it looks like.+ if I can get one from another pc that I have apart I would be pretty pleased with that.

LewRockwell
September 7th, 2009, 08:04 PM
I think that it is too but I have no idea where it is located or what it looks like.+ if I can get one from another pc that I have apart I would be pretty pleased with that.

http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000239.htm

.

Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 08:08 PM
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000239.htm

.
thank you!, I'll check into that, see if it works for me.

Thocrun
September 7th, 2009, 10:07 PM
thank you!, I'll check into that, see if it works for me.
There is no way for me to put a new batterey in because I guess it was soldered in there, I've got another comp, and I want to know how to run grub to start the cd drive, when I have a bootable floppy with grub on it. + I completely screwed up the windows 98 that was on it, I think only the command line works somewhat, but the bios can't be set to run the cd drive directly because I guess that's too old.