PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] second harddrive



Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 02:45 PM
Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x90909090

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 14030 112695943+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 14031 14593 4522297+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 14031 14593 4522266 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x05f49d64

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 14593 117218241 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x4be82cf4

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 1 60801 488384001 7 HPFS/NTFS
Hello...I have a new install of ubuntu 9.04 and only ubuntu...'no windows'...and I can't find my second hardrive...I know, I'm new and don't know much about this. I've installed GParted and it shows up there and when I run the terminal it shows up there as well...
But it does not show up in places...Can anyone tell me what to do?

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 02:48 PM
Hello...I have a new install of ubuntu 9.04 and only ubuntu...'no windows'...and I can't find my second hardrive...I know, I'm new and don't know much about this. I've installed GParted and it shows up there and when I run the terminal it shows up there as well...
But it does not show up in places...Can anyone tell me what to do?

Can you please post the contents of '/etc/fstab' and the ouput from the terminal command
sudo fdisk -l
This will help us build a picture of what your drives are named and how the system handles them.

Kind regards,
Bodsda

fstab: fstab is a file that tells your system how and where to mount you partitions. This file decides whether or not a partition is automatically mounted

fdisk -l: This program, 'fdisk', is a terminal partition manipulator program. It can do basically what gparted can do. The -l option tells it to output a list of all partitions it knows about

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 02:53 PM
Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x90909090

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 14030 112695943+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 14031 14593 4522297+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 14031 14593 4522266 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x05f49d64

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 14593 117218241 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x4be82cf4

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 1 60801 488384001 7 HPFS/NTFS

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 02:58 PM
Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x90909090

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 14030 112695943+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 14031 14593 4522297+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 14031 14593 4522266 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x05f49d64

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 14593 117218241 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x4be82cf4

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 1 60801 488384001 7 HPFS/NTFS

Thanks, could you also provide the contents of the fstab file. To access it, run the following command


gedit /etc/fstab

Thanks,
Bodsda

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:06 PM
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'vol_id --uuid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=5dbd2ae8-f70b-49bd-b801-2e91629f9f03 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=e8963c74-09ad-41a9-be62-507f26afe24c none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 03:11 PM
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'vol_id --uuid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=5dbd2ae8-f70b-49bd-b801-2e91629f9f03 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=e8963c74-09ad-41a9-be62-507f26afe24c none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0

Ok, so this tells us that your second hard drive is not being automatically mounted... So, I am assuming that it is your NTFS drive that you want, so trying running the following commands


sudo mkdir /media/win
sudo mount /dev/sdc1 /media/win

The first command creates a directory or folder which is needed for the mount point. The second command mounts /dev/sdc1 which, according to your fdisk -l, is your ntfs drive, at the mount point that the first command created.

Hope this helps,
Bodsda

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:22 PM
Do I want an NTFS drive? Do I need an NTFS drive? I have only ubuntu installed...is it necessary to have an NTFS drive...?

NoaHall
September 6th, 2009, 03:23 PM
No, not if you only have Linux. Use something like ext3 or ext4 instead.

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:25 PM
thanks

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 03:26 PM
Do I want an NTFS drive? Do I need an NTFS drive? I have only ubuntu installed...is it necessary to have an NTFS drive...?
Ok, I am a bit confused. I see more then one other partition so I don't kow which one you want. From what I can see, you have 2 120GB drives and one 500GB drive.

Which one do you require?

Kind regards,
Bodsda

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:38 PM
Ok...I'm sorry, I wasn't clear...sda is my primary drive...sdb is my slave...the 500 is just storage
I'm trying to mount the sdb or slave and can't seem to get it visible

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:44 PM
I'm sorry I wasn't more clear...sda is my primary and sdb is my slave...I'm trying to get sdb to show up...the 500 is just storage

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 03:44 PM
Ok...I'm sorry, I wasn't clear...sda is my primary drive...sdb is my slave...the 500 is just storage
I'm trying to mount the sdb or slave and can't seem to get it visible

Ok, no worries, in that case lets run the following command to mount sdb1


sudo mkdir /media/slave
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/slave


Then see if that shows up.

Kind regards,
Bodsda

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:46 PM
I require sdb the second internal drive...the slave...sda is primary....the 500 is just storage...sorry I wasn't more clear

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 03:50 PM
I require sdb the second internal drive...the slave...sda is primary....the 500 is just storage...sorry I wasn't more clear

No worries, just follow the instructions that I have posted just above. :)

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:54 PM
Ok...Ok I think I understand now...
The sda, or primary is the filesystem drive...Right?
and the sdb or slave shows up as 120GB media...Right?

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 03:56 PM
Ok...Ok I think I understand now...
The sda, or primary is the filesystem drive...Right?
and the sdb or slave shows up as 120GB media...Right?

Yes I would think so.
sda1 is already mounted, it is the one you have your system files and your home directory on. sdb1 is not used at all at the moment.

Hope this helps,
Bodsda

Madagaine
September 6th, 2009, 03:59 PM
Thank you very much Bodsda Whoever you are...how do I mark this solved?

Bodsda
September 6th, 2009, 04:10 PM
Thank you very much Bodsda Whoever you are...how do I mark this solved?

If your happy with the resolution then you can mark the thread by scrolling up, and at the top of the page, above the post on the right hand side there is a drop down list called 'thread tools'. One of the options in that list is mark thread as solved.

Thanks,
Have a nice day,
Bodsda

pedro3005
September 6th, 2009, 04:13 PM
Click Thread Tools then Mark as Solved.

EDIT: Bodsda beat me to it :(