PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] create mount point

supermooshman
September 6th, 2009, 12:08 AM
Hi All,

I just partitioned my second HD with parted.

Now I am looking to make a mount point for this hard drive... but after a day searching for it, I could not find it :confused:

Oh, I looked on google and the forum, but was not able to make any sense out of all this!?
Anyone who can explain this to me in "absolute beginner talk"?

Greatly appreciated!

Xenomorph05
September 6th, 2009, 12:11 AM
To add a mount point you need to add "/" to it. If you are doing this in Ubuntu select the partition and edit it and then pick the /.

zerhacke
September 6th, 2009, 12:13 AM
Uh, no, if you are adding a second hard drive to your installation you do not want to mount it to /.

coldReactive
September 6th, 2009, 12:15 AM
Uh, no, if you are adding a second hard drive to your installation you do not want to mount it to /.

Then what do you mount it too? /boot?

Xenomorph05
September 6th, 2009, 12:16 AM
It depends on the purpose of the second partition. It doesn't need a mount point if the first one has Ubuntu and is / already? Unless they want it to be /home?

zerhacke
September 6th, 2009, 12:18 AM
It depends on the purpose of the second partition. It doesn't need a mount point if the first one has Ubuntu and is / already? Unless they want it to be /home?

The OP didn't say he had a new partition, he has a new drive.

Yes, it needs a mount point no matter if Ubuntu is already installed. Without mounting it how do you propose he uses the disk?

zerhacke
September 6th, 2009, 12:20 AM
Then what do you mount it too? /boot?

Whatever you want that is not already taken. If you mount it to /boot the only files you'll be able to use on that drive are the ones in the /boot directory. Mounting it to /home is going to make inaccessible your home directories and you obviously don't want that.

I suggest mounting it to /data

Xenomorph05
September 6th, 2009, 12:22 AM