PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Not Working on Netbook

CandlJack
September 2nd, 2009, 05:16 AM
Hi,

I got a Dell Mini 9 Netbook with Windows XP on it and had a ton of problems. I won't get into a long wall of text about all the problems since they're probably irrelevant now that I've installed Ubuntu on it, but I'm still unable to use the wireless adapter to connect to my router. I'm somewhat new to linux, though not COMPLETELY new.

The first thing I'd like to point out is that my wireless router is right next to the netbook, and I also have other devices connecting to it just fine. This is what leads me to believe this is a software problem on the netbook.

I started to follow the troubleshooting steps here (https://help.ubuntu.com/9.04/internet/C/troubleshooting-wireless.html).

The very first step says: "Many wireless network devices can be turned on or off. Check to see if there is a hardware switch, some devices can be switched off from Windows and may need to be turned back on from Windows."

There is no physical on/off switch, but the Fn-2 key I believe is supposed to turn it off and on (keyboard image (http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/6751/keyboard1w.jpg)) I get no response from hitting this key.

Under the "Check for device recognition" section I followed the steps it said, and I do see both the wired connection and wireless connection, as well as a bluetooth device which is disabled. The bluetooth device does say DISABLED, as the page says it should, but neither the wired nor wireless say any of the states they list (CLAIMED, UNCLAIMED, ENABLED or DISABLED).

The section with the heading "Check for a connection to the router", I entered the command and the result for the wireless device was this:
eth1 IEEE802.11 Nickname:"" Access Point: Not-Associated Link Quality: 5 Signal Level: 0 Noise Level: 0 Rx invalid nwid: 0 invalid crypt:0 invalid misc:0
I'm not sure what most of this means but the whole Not-Associated thing looks pretty wrong.