PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Alsa ladspa pcm plugin "Unknown PCM ladspa"



samuelhug
August 26th, 2009, 08:41 PM
I've been playing around with the /etc/asound.conf file for a couple of days now and I ran into a problem when I tried to use the ladspa plugins.

I copied the example from http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/Ladspa_(plugin)


pcm.ladspa {
type ladspa
slave.pcm "plughw:0,0";
path "/usr/lib/ladspa";
plugins [
{
label delay_5s
input {
controls [ 0.8 0.3 ]
}
}
]
}

after I put that in my /etc/asound.conf file I restarted Alsa

sudo /etc/init.d/alsa-utils restart

and then I ran

aplay -Dplug:ladspa test.wav

to test it and I recieved the following output

ALSA lib pcm.c:2205:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM ladspa
aplay: main:590: audio open error: File exists

Any help would be appreciated

george_ubnt
September 1st, 2009, 08:02 AM
I am facing exactly same problem.... Any updates?

samuelhug
September 1st, 2009, 07:56 PM
nope. still havn't figured it out.

samuelhug
September 3rd, 2009, 11:09 PM
Ok I found the following article but I can make much scene out of it.
As far as I can tell I need to recompile libasound2-plugins maybe?

The Article (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=7245877&highlight=Unknown+PCM+ladspa#post7245877)

samuelhug
October 2nd, 2009, 03:38 AM
it worked for me after I upgraded to karmic beta

also I should mention that pulseaudio is the default audio system for karmic but I didn't like it cause it was giving me problems so I switched it back to alsa.

v_2e
January 7th, 2012, 06:31 PM
Hello!
Stopping the PulseAudio daemon helps in this case.
Just type


pulseaudio --killin the terminal of yor user and try playing the sound in a regular ALSA way. For example mplayer will determine the ALSA output device automatically.
--------
Update: One more problem may be that PulseAudio daemon will start itself automatically when you try to play something.
A quick but dirty workaround may be making the PulseAudio configuration incorrect for PulseAudio could not start.
I simply added a not existent device to the following string in the /etc/pulse/default.pa file:


load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:1,0
There is no device "hw:1,0" in my system, so PulseAudio cannot start. And Mplayer will play everything directly through ALSA (as well as any other player, I believe).

P.S. If you do so, just don't forget to correct the PulseAudio configuration back when you need it.
P.P.S. Still it would be much better to figure out how to play the sound through the LADSPA plugins with PulseAudio running.