PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing on Laptop with Broken LCD

ben.clark
August 23rd, 2009, 09:37 PM
Hi there, I'm new to Linux so I'm experimenting with an older broken HP laptop I have. The machine itself is ok although it won't boot into windows, it will run the LiveCD. The problem here is that the LCD screen is totally screwed, only a tiny portion works, enough to know where I am in the menus to start the LiveCD but nothing more.

What I want to do is use the S-Video output on my laptop to connect to my TV as an external monitor so I can use the machine again. I've tried looking this up online and found the display preferences but the computer/ubuntu isn't recognizing my tv as a screen.

I'm sure there must be a way to do this but without a screen working in the first place it's kinda hard to do anything.

Hopefully someone out there can help.

Thanks Ben

theozzlives
August 23rd, 2009, 09:40 PM
Do you have an external monitor you can plug into the laptop?

ben.clark
August 23rd, 2009, 10:02 PM
Sadly no, although I will be keeping my eye's on Freecycle for one as obviously that should be auto-recognised. Any idea for the TV? I heard about modifying some file although obviously I can't do that without a working screen in the first place.

theozzlives
August 23rd, 2009, 10:27 PM
Sadly no, although I will be keeping my eye's on Freecycle for one as obviously that should be auto-recognised. Any idea for the TV? I heard about modifying some file although obviously I can't do that without a working screen in the first place.

Without seeing what your doing it's hard, almost impossible.

ben.clark
August 23rd, 2009, 11:43 PM