PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to listen radio on Rhythmbox 0.12.0?



vickoxy
August 23rd, 2009, 12:42 AM
Hi,
wanted to use Rhythmbox 0.12.0 as radio station center, but every station i add (http adress) ends with error. Is there any easy way to make Rhythmbox 0.12.0 to work with my Ubuntu 9.04?
Thanks

I installed some packages (think mmcO text2html-but no change.

vickoxy
August 30th, 2009, 07:23 PM
I can not add this radio to my rhythmbox (or some mms stations):

http://wien.orf.at/magazin/studio/radiowien/popup?skin=liveradio2

But if the adress ends on .m3u, then everything works fine. Does anyone knows what do i have to install to make those radio-stations to work?

ron999
August 30th, 2009, 10:41 PM
Hi
I'm still using Rhythmbox v0.10.0
That radio station you linked is working OK for me.
In Rhythmbox choose 'New internet radio station'.
Then paste this as the url:-

mms://apasf.apa.at/radio_wien_worldwide

The http links that you tried are links to the webpage.
You have to dig deeper to find the link to the radio feed.

vickoxy
August 31st, 2009, 06:58 AM
Hi
I'm still using Rhythmbox v0.10.0
That radio station you linked is working OK for me.
In Rhythmbox choose 'New internet radio station'.
Then paste this as the url:-

mms://apasf.apa.at/radio_wien_worldwide

The http links that you tried are links to the webpage.
You have to dig deeper to find the link to the radio feed.

Thanks-i figured that also-found the same station with "Web Site Infos".
Still, some are played in browser but some can i not play:
http://www.radio101.hr/ (can not play in browser)
http://www.hrt.hr/stream/PROGRAM2 (this one i can play in browser but not in rhythmbox)

Just wanted to know are there some codecs i should install ore how it is working...

ron999
August 31st, 2009, 12:16 PM
also-found the same station with "Web Site Infos".

^ ^ ^
This is correct.

The other two stations.
radio101
This won't play in my browser but asks to open 'Totem'.
The link for Rhythmbox is

mms:media.t-com.hr/101


croatian radio PROGRAM2
This one is too difficult.
It plays using 'flash'.
There is no link for Rhythmbox to use.
Many stations use this method. :sad: :frown:
But dig deeper and deeper, sometimes there is an extra feed for iPhones.

Some radio stations offer several feeds. Low-quality for dial-up, high-quality for broadband.
Here are two high-quality feeds.
RadioParadise.com

http://scfire-dtc-aa01.stream.aol.com/stream/1049
RadioCaroline.co.uk

http://sc1.abacast.com:8105/
:guitar:

vickoxy
August 31st, 2009, 10:26 PM
^ ^ ^
This is correct.

The other two stations.
radio101
This won't play in my browser but asks to open 'Totem'.
The link for Rhythmbox is

mms:media.t-com.hr/101


croatian radio PROGRAM2
This one is too difficult.
It plays using 'flash'.
There is no link for Rhythmbox to use.
Many stations use this method. :sad: :frown:
But dig deeper and deeper, sometimes there is an extra feed for iPhones.

Some radio stations offer several feeds. Low-quality for dial-up, high-quality for broadband.
Here are two high-quality feeds.
RadioParadise.com

http://scfire-dtc-aa01.stream.aol.com/stream/1049
RadioCaroline.co.uk

http://sc1.abacast.com:8105/
:guitar:

Thanks for your answers. Well i can live whitout some stations. Still
mms:media.t-com.hr/101
couldnīt get to work-any idea?

vickoxy
August 31st, 2009, 10:33 PM
Well ron999, you gave me just good idea-your stations seems good for me.

So, if someone can suggest me more good jazz/blues/ or rock stations...

Thanks

ron999
September 1st, 2009, 07:05 AM
Still
mms:media.t-com.hr/101
couldnīt get to work-any idea?
Yes, my bad. :redface:
This is the correct link:-

http://media.t-com.hr/101

vickoxy
September 1st, 2009, 05:10 PM
Yes, my bad. :redface:
This is the correct link:-

http://media.t-com.hr/101

Thank you very much!