PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu, fakeraid, dual boot, dmraid

ginx
August 22nd, 2009, 10:32 AM
Hello all,

I'm a total noob to Linux, and have chosen to use Ubuntu as my distro of choice.
I was very eager to start using Linux. But, as you may have already figures this out I have had some problems with installing Ubuntu on my system.

I have three HDDs. Two of them (500GB WD) in a software raid 0 (via nvidia controller). The third one is a separate 160GB WD HDD.
I have XP (x64) installed on the raid HDDs, an older XP (x64) installed (not in use) on the separate HDD. The third (and separate HDD) has two NTFS partitions (one is used by the XP installation), one EX4 partition and one swap partition. I was trying to install Ubuntu on the third HDD.
As you may have already guessed, I did not seceded installing successfully Ubunto onto my system. Ubuntu and GRUB have a problem detecting, installing and booting alongside software raid. Neither the Linux nor the XP install will boot.
During the installation, the installer did not recognize the XP installed on the raid drive (not so surprisingly), it didn't also recognize (suprisingly) the XP installed on the separate HDD.
Making the third HDD the primary boot HDD and installing (again) Ubuntu did not help, neither Unbuntu nor the older XP install are booted.
I've been at it for about a week, looking for away to solve the problem. I have found all sorts of guides: FakeRaidHowTo (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto), "Getting GRUB to recognize a windows installation on a RAID0 array (http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1092764.html)" and many more. I couldn't solve the problem using the. For instance, I get stuck in the middle of the FakeRaidHowTo (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto) guide, and do not know how to continue.