PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] no boot after install

timayyy
August 21st, 2009, 06:09 AM
i am a newbie when it comes to ubuntu. I did an install on an older HP pavillion desktop with a geforce fx5200 graphics card. after searching forums on installing I finally got it to install using the "text only" installer. now the system boots to the loading screen, but when the bar reaches 100 percent the screen goes black and nothing happens. I'm thinking its a driver issue, but without getting into the system i don't know what to do. can anybody help walk me through this. remember im a noob so be specific please!

Moop
August 21st, 2009, 06:15 AM
You shouldn't need a driver for things to work. How much memory does your pc have?

Maybe you should try Xubuntu which uses less resources.

timayyy
August 21st, 2009, 05:45 PM
I have 512 meg memory. I see in other posts about fx5200 video card issues, but from what i see, they resolved the issue from the control panel and updating drivers. My question is, if i cant load the system to access the control panel how do i get an updated driver to install and hopefully fix this issue......

timayyy
August 22nd, 2009, 08:06 PM
bump

stlsaint
August 22nd, 2009, 08:13 PM
say again why you arent installing thru by booting to cd and installing from there?

timayyy
August 22nd, 2009, 10:40 PM
I got the system installed correctly, my problem is it hangs up after the splash screen, sometimes it will go as far as the first graphics screen with sound then the monitor goes black and wont go any farther. I'm begining to think my grapghics card is on its way out....

timayyy
August 23rd, 2009, 01:24 AM
99% of the time a message appears on the monitor "oversize recomand mode 1280X1024" then goes black. i installed new invidia drivers (173 and 180) but nothing changed. ran memtest for an hour and all is fine there.

presence1960
August 23rd, 2009, 02:09 AM