PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Radeon 9000 (RV250) can't change resolution.



pawhtiobo
August 20th, 2009, 12:11 PM
I have a Dell D600, with a Radeon 9000, after a lot of research an tweaking i was able to put the display to work fine at 1400X1050, with compiz and some effects, but at this resolution, the performance is afected when i maximize the windows, or scroll some long pages in firefox, the wierd thing is that i can't change the display resolution to 1024x768, i got an error about virtual size and then, i'm back to 1400X1050, i changed the virtual size just like it says in lots of posts...but no luck. I tested other versions on Ubuntu 8.04, 8.10 and it happens the same thing, i also tried other debian based distros and got the same problem, i tried some slackware based distros and this problem didn't happen, i can change resolution normally, i checked the xorg.conf and i was using the same driver, i also tested de xorg.conf of Ubuntu in Slackware and it works as it should...

Any clue ppl? :)

THX

pawhtiobo
August 25th, 2009, 09:26 PM
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

Finaly it works :D....i just installed Ubuntu 8.04 LTS and in this version, the RV250 bug is gone.....finally i can get my old box working as it should :)


see ya....

pawhtiobo
August 25th, 2009, 09:50 PM
Bump!! Arghh...etc..etc

Now i can change resolution, but i don't have any effects....well...lets see how it goes... :P

see ya...

pawhtiobo
August 25th, 2009, 10:04 PM
Problem solved :D

I just upgraded to the lastest version of compiz...and now it rocks :guitar:

See ya...

irjman
September 11th, 2009, 08:04 PM
I have a Dell D600, with a Radeon 9000, after a lot of research an tweaking i was able to put the display to work fine at 1400X1050, with compiz and some effects, but at this resolution, the performance is afected when i maximize the windows, or scroll some long pages in firefox, the wierd thing is that i can't change the display resolution to 1024x768, i got an error about virtual size and then, i'm back to 1400X1050, i changed the virtual size just like it says in lots of posts...but no luck. I tested other versions on Ubuntu 8.04, 8.10 and it happens the same thing, i also tried other debian based distros and got the same problem, i tried some slackware based distros and this problem didn't happen, i can change resolution normally, i checked the xorg.conf and i was using the same driver, i also tested de xorg.conf of Ubuntu in Slackware and it works as it should...

Any clue ppl? :)

THX

Sorry to barge in... I've been wrestling with getting my Dell D600 to do 1400x1050. I can't get it working. How did you get yours to work?

Thx

pawhtiobo
October 25th, 2009, 09:05 PM
Hi :)

Well my problem was the opposite of yours, i couldn't use any resolution under the 1400x1050, but with the install of the Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Desktop i can use any resolution with no problems, i advice you to use a 1024x768 if you plan to use compiz and effects, because at 1400x1050 it runs very slow. Which version of Ubuntu are you using?

If you need anything just ask :)

see ya...

gusman21
October 29th, 2009, 03:06 AM
Sorry to barge in... I've been wrestling with getting my Dell D600 to do 1400x1050. I can't get it working. How did you get yours to work?

Thx

what release?