PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie - problem fully booting computer so I can get onto instalation process

evanm457
August 20th, 2009, 10:36 AM
I have never rebooted or installed any os before so i am new to this. The problem at the start was that windows 98 would not load so I tried to fix this in the bios setup this was blocked with a password which i didn't know so I took apart the computer and took out the motherboard battery which reseted to default which didnt have a password. On my new laptop I downloaded a copy of ubuntu and image burnt it onto a cd. I then brought across this cd to my old computer and rebooted it. Everything worked perfectly, I choosed the language then got onto the screen which says: -try ubuntu without any changes to your computer -install ubuntu etc.... i tryed both but the same thing happens to the two of them. It does the ubuntu loading thing for about five minutes and then the screen goes blank. Now this is very similar to what it does with windows 98 it stays stuck on the loading screen. how can I fix this. please remember the only program I can use is BIOS 1999 I think anyway. Any help is really appriciated. Thank You

Partyboi2
August 20th, 2009, 11:06 AM
Hi, what are your system specs? Are you sure you met the requirements to install Ubuntu?

evanm457
August 20th, 2009, 11:41 AM
ah yea the computer is only 256mb ram. But the intel is right. is there any linux that runs under 256mb?

Partyboi2
August 20th, 2009, 11:55 AM
You could try Xubuntu, (http://www.xubuntu.org/) or try installing Ubuntu using the alternate cd (http://noncdn.releases.ubuntu.com/jaunty/), which is a text base installer and does not provide a live environment to check ubuntu out.

cascade9
August 20th, 2009, 11:57 AM
Yeah, theres plently of linux distros that run with 256MB ram. Ubuntu + Kubuntu are probably a bit 'heavy' for 256MB, but will still run. Xubuntu is a bit lighter, but does prefer a bit more ram if possible.