PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Not able to play video...System hangs

udit1233
August 19th, 2009, 02:49 AM
I just installed ubuntu 8.04 hardy heron on my "hp 6530s" laptop with 2gb ram and on board default video card...

I tried totem player but it plays 2 seconds of audio displays no video and the system hangs and i have to press the power button to restart my laptop...

Then i used vlc player but it plays 5 seconds of sudio with no video and the screen blackens out then evrything reappears with even the mouse not working...

overdrank
August 19th, 2009, 03:22 AM
Hi and welcome, Have you installed the RestrictedFormats (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RestrictedFormats)
On the specs of that system it appears it uses the intel graphics and if you are using Jaunty 9.04 you may look at the link in my signature about the intel graphics on Jaunty.

udit1233
August 19th, 2009, 03:58 AM
Yeah i have installed the restricted formats...

I am a totally newbie to ubuntu and i just don't know what is all that abiut jaunty that you are talking about...i read that but couldn't understand anything...

and yeah...in the ekiga software...i am able to view the video from my webcam which is very small...but if i start "cheese" software then the system hangs....

one more thing...I am able to view the thumbnail preview of all the video files...

please,please help

dtoronto
August 19th, 2009, 04:04 AM
I would recommend using VLC media player and make sure that you have the right codecs. Ubuntu isn't a "plug and play" OS for video codecs. Even with the right codecs I have had problems getting some codecs to run well with the default Totem.

overdrank
August 19th, 2009, 04:37 AM
Yeah i have installed the restricted formats...

I am a totally newbie to ubuntu and i just don't know what is all that abiut jaunty that you are talking about...i read that but couldn't understand anything...