PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Issues Installing ATI video drivers

Cashman3000
August 19th, 2009, 01:27 AM
I am new to Ubuntu and the Ubuntu forums and just recently started using Ubuntu 9.04. I am having a few issues configuring my video drivers. I noticed that many of the games that I downloaded from the repositories would freeze up after a few minutes of playing time. I realized that I needed to configure my video drivers. After reviewing the forum I followed the steps at:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto/ATI#General%20Troubleshooting

I followed the steps and upon entering:
sudo insmod /lib/modules/`uname -r`/volatile/fglrx.ko

I recieved: "insmod: can't read '/lib/modules/2.6.28-14-generic/volatile/fglrx.ko': No such file or directory"
I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on how to resolve my video driver issues.
This is my video card: 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600]

Any help would be greatly appreciated.....

alexandari
August 19th, 2009, 01:30 AM
install Envy. You can find it in the packages in Add/Remove programs. It downloads and installs the latest drivers for nvidia or ati

Mark Phelps
August 19th, 2009, 02:51 AM
This is my video card: 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600]

Any help would be greatly appreciated.....
Your card is not supported with fglrx drivers under Ubuntu 9.04. You will need to uninstall those drivers and replace them with the open source drivers.

Cashman3000
August 19th, 2009, 03:34 AM
"Your card is not supported with fglrx drivers under Ubuntu 9.04. You will need to uninstall those drivers and replace them with the open source drivers."

Whats the best way to uninstall those fglrx drivers? I will poke around the forum too to try and find out. Thanks for the help.

Vakman
August 19th, 2009, 03:49 AM