PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing NVIDIA graphics card driver

Saxcore
August 18th, 2009, 12:07 PM
Hiya. I've had a look around, and can't seem to find anything specifically on this problem, however i'm very new to all of this, so forgive me if i'm getting confused.

I'm currently trying to install a driver for my NVIDIA 8600 GT card. When i run the installer, it reaches an error when it attempts to compile the kernel module. Here is part of the nvidia-installer.log file that is output.

ERROR: The kernel header file
'/lib/modules/2.6.24-24-generic/build/include/linux/kernel.h' does not
exist. The most likely reason for this is that the kernel source path
'/lib/modules/2.6.24-24-generic/build' is incorrect. Please make sure
you have installed the kernel source files for your kernel and that they
are properly configured; on Red Hat Linux systems, for example, be sure
you have the 'kernel-source' or 'kernel-devel' RPM installed. If you
know the correct kernel source files are installed, you may specify the
kernel source path with the '--kernel-source-path' command line option.

The thing that i don't get (and this is probably pretty simple) is that it is trying to use the source code from 2.6.24-24, which for some reason i don't have. However, i assumed my system was at least up to version 2.6.28-15

So, entering

uname -r
into the terminal returns

2.6.24-24-generic

...could it be that it simply thinks it is an older kernel version than it actually is?

As i said, this is probably extremely straight forward...

Thanks in advance!

-Sam

sitendurocks@gmail.com
August 18th, 2009, 12:28 PM
Hi!

i have the exact same card, and i have sorted out the problem, so here is what i suggest you do.
1st makes sure your kernel i s updated by running the update manager feature.
2. download the software called ubuntu tweak and remove the old kernel packages..